Home > Christianity, Faith > A Classic Deuceology Post: The Jim Halpert Schtick

A Classic Deuceology Post: The Jim Halpert Schtick

This is a classic Deuceology post from a couple of years ago.

I don’t know if you watch The Office, but I love it.  I don’t watch it every week for some reason, but when I do I find it one of the most amusing, hilarious shows that I have ever watched.  I was compared to Michael Scott once by someone I managed on my team.  This hurt my feelings immensely, as I don’t see myself in any shape, form or fashion as Michael Scott.  There is one character, however,  that I do see in myself.

Jim Halpert.

Jim is sort of a wise-cracking, suffering everyone else, doesn’t take anything serious kind of character.  He is probably the most competent person in the office he works in (I’m not suggesting that I am the most competent person in my company).  If you have watched the show, you know that he is the anti-Dwight.

Recently, Michael Scott has left the company, presumably to give greater attention to his burgeoning movie career.  Sorry, got Michael and Steve Carell mixed up there.  Will Ferrell played a character that was going to take his place, but was unable to continue due to trying a stunt basketball dunk.  Eventually this leads to a search committee looking for the new manager.  Jim Halpert is one of those charged with looking for the new manager.  Everyone sees Jim as not taking this job seriously.  Ryan, another character, tells him to lighten up on the Jim Halpert schtick.

Do you ever find yourself needing to lighten up on your “schtick?”

That scene hit me between the eyes and has been gnawing at me ever since.  Why?  Because I am afraid that people get tired of my “schtick”.  I saw it come out in a meeting the other day.  It comes out in my tweets and Facebook posts.  Yet, I don’t know if I can change it.  I’ve been working on it and perfecting it for twenty-six years now.  Twenty-six years ago, I walked into my job at Food City, a grocery store, and was greeted with a, “Hello Lawrence!!!” by Jay Setser.  With an ultra-serious response, I said, “My name is not Lawrence!!!”  I’ve been trying to not be “Lawrence” ever since.  I have eventually evolved (can I use that word since I am a Christian?) into Larry The Deuce.

So there is a war within me.  The lightheartedness comes out.  The wisecracks are said.  The offbeat humor is displayed.

And I hear someone say, “Lay off the schtick every once in a while.”

  1. March 14, 2013 at 5:10 am

    You must be my brother from another mother. I know my shtick has gotten old from time to time. I am an off-the-cuff joker and trust me when I say that has gotten me in trouble. I speak before I think. I tend to keep things lighthearted (that is my personality), but I know I need to back from time to time. It is sooooo hard to do that.

    • March 14, 2013 at 5:34 am

      Bill, I can definitely open mouth and insert foot.

  2. March 14, 2013 at 6:28 am

    Yes. I’ve been told that a time or two. Normally in a large crowd where I’m forcing being the center of attention.

  3. March 14, 2013 at 6:35 am

    I love The Office. I think I sometimes I come off being a little too sarcastic in my delivery. I know that some people just don’t get it and I need to be cautious when and how I express myself

    • March 14, 2013 at 6:55 am

      I have definitely felt that way, Eileen. I felt that way for about 17 years in a church. They didn’t get me or my schtick.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

