Home > Christianity, Faith > Did You Pray For Your Trip To Work Today?

Did You Pray For Your Trip To Work Today?

Do you have your prayers answered?

I know, I know. All prayers are answered. We either get a yes, no, or not now/maybe later response anytime we pray. What I mean by my question is if you are really hearing or seeing prayers answered?

I think if I asked a lot of you that question, you would say, “Of course, I’m hearing and seeing my prayers answered.” But I wonder if that isn’t just to save face when our prayers seem stuck on the ceiling and we don’t seem to have any clear direction from the Lord in where to go or what to do.

***

I think it is easy for us to pray for big things. We pray for major illnesses. We pray for big decisions. We ask for our nation to return (if it was ever there) to being a Godly country.

But have you done this?

Did you pray for your trip to work today?

Have you prayed for those car keys that you can’t find?

Did you pray before you took a Tylenol when you had a headache?

I’m not guaranteeing that anything spectacular will happen if you do this. But I’m not saying that it won’t either.

***

The problem I find that I have is that I do not default to prayer. I take every other option first.

For the “little” things, I just don’t bother Him. It’s like I don’t want to waste His time with something insignificant. The problem is that there isn’t really anything insignificant for Him when it comes to us. He sent His Son to die on the cross for us. Do you really believe that He isn’t concerned with our dirve to work, our lost keys or our headache?

Jesus told the disciples to pray for their daily bread. He wants to be involved in the minute and basic things of our lives. Not just our cancer, who we should marry or our choice of colleges.

I find that I don’t want to nag Him too much. Yet, one of Christ’s parables is about a man who gives in because a guy won’t quit banging on his door. God is infinitely better than this man. He wants us to beat his door down with our prayers.

***

So, I have this problem with prayer. I don’t pray without ceasing. I pray with tons of ceasing. I pray for the big things in life, not those things that aren’t God-worthy.

It’s time to fix my problem.

Did you pray on your way to work today?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. March 15, 2013 at 7:31 am

    I agree that we often forget to pray about the little things. The big ones that is another story. Large or small He is interested. To answer your question: no. Today is my day off and my prayer would have to be a quick one since I only live 2 miles from the church building. 🙂

    • March 16, 2013 at 8:09 am

      Bill, I envy you a little bit. I would love to have a two mile commute. But the flipside is that I get to look at the mountains on my way home every day.

  2. Ricky Anderson
    March 15, 2013 at 9:19 am

    You’d be amazed how many little server issues He’s fixed over the years.

    • March 16, 2013 at 8:04 am

      Ricky, I have no doubt. Some things can’t be explained other than Him fixing them.

  3. March 15, 2013 at 10:10 am

    I work from home, so my commute is a short one. 🙂

    Good post, and well received.

    • March 16, 2013 at 8:03 am

      Kevin, I can see the pluses and minuses of working from home. I bet you have to be disciplined. Thanks for commenting, bro.

  4. Sele
    March 15, 2013 at 10:27 am

    Great post today Larry. I have about a 20 min commute each day and I do spend part of this time talking to God. I used to think that He didn’t have time to bother with the trivial, however, as I have grown older, and hopefully wiser, I have come to rely on Him for everything, even the small stuff. I realized that He does care about the small stuff because He cares about us.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

