Home > Christianity, Faith > Classic Deuceology: What Are You Passionate About?

Classic Deuceology: What Are You Passionate About?

This post came from a couple of years ago during the early days of Deuceology.

I was reading a Tweet a few days ago from a preacher.  He quoted another preacher, C.J. Mahaney, in his Tweet.  Pastor Mahaney was quoted as asking this question of several preachers: If I asked your congregations what you were passionate about, what would they say?  The first thing that went through my head was how I would answer this about my pastor.  I would ask you that are reading this how you would answer this about your own pastor.  Please keep your answers to yourself.  But there is another question that I would like to ask.  What would be the answer be about yourself?  What are you passionate about?

How you answer this, truthfully, will show the results of your possible relationship with the Lord.  Between you and your pastor, it will probably also indicate the health of your church.

In thinking about this, there were three possible conclusions that I came up with.  Read them and tell me what you think.  I don’t have the corner on all of this.

1.  If your pastor is passionate about the Lord and His Church and you (and everyone else) aren’t, you will be uncomfortable with the direction of what’s going on in your church and with your pastor.

2.  If your pastor is not passionate about the Lord and His Church and you (and everyone else)  are, you will be frustrated and irritated with what is going on with the church.

3.  If your pastor is passionate and you (and everyone else) are passionate, the question is moot.  You have unity and everyone is on the same page.

My prayer is that your pastor, my pastor, you and I are all passionate about the Lord and His Church.  Oh, what a day!!!

What are you passionate about?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. March 19, 2013 at 11:04 am

    I am passionate about Him.

  2. March 19, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    Nice post. It is ok to be passionate about things of the world (UT sports) but our top passion must be God, Jesus, people and the church!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

