Home > Christianity, Faith > Do You Want To Be Relevant?

Do You Want To Be Relevant?

I’ve noticed a trend in Christianity through Twitter and the blogosphere over the past couple of years.  It disturbs me and, yes, sometimes I fall into it.

There seems to be this huge desire among many of my fellow believers to be relevant.

Don’t get me wrong.  I don’t always talk about my faith in these arenas that many of you have met me.  I am likely to tweet about my beloved Vols.  I may mention the latest movie I’ve seen.  I will tell you when Doctor Who will be back on TV (March 30).

However, none of that makes me relevant.  It simply tells you what I like.

Many of my fellow brothers and sisters like Mumford and Sons.  Several of them got in on them when hardly anyone knew who they were.  I hope they still like them.  I hope they like them for years to come.  I like them because they are really good and I will continue to like them.

That doesn’t make us relevant.

Some of my other brothers and sisters want to take some issues that have been considered sin for thousands of years and make them normal.  They seemingly take the opposite stand on so many issues than what has stood as the norm for Christianity since it began.

It seems like they are looking and accepting what is accepted in our culture as what is right and wrong.  They want the culture to impact the Church more than the Church to impact the culture.

That doesn’t make them relevant.

What are we do to about all of this?

We should love.

The most loving thing we can do to a glutton is to tell them about their gluttony.  We need to tell them that they are sinners and Christ offers the way out.

If someone is an adulterer, the most loving thing we can do is tell them that their adultery is leading them down the wrong path.  We need to tell them they are sinners, but Christ offers the way out.

And so on.  And so on.  You pick the behavior and I will tell you the common denominator.

We are all sinners.  Some of us have to be saved from our sin.  But those of us who are already recipients of God’s grace carry a responsibility to present the truth so that the others may be saved as well.

Do you want to impact the culture or do you want the culture to impact you?

  1. March 20, 2013 at 5:25 am

    I go to Romans 12:1 on this Larry. “Don’t let the world squeeze you into its mold.” i see nothing wrong with trying to reach this generation/culture, but not with compromise. If the Bible says something is sin, don’t try to normalize it and think it is relevant. We are not doing the culture any good by giving in. Relevancy is as much an attitude, I think, as it is an action. I don’t see, for example, a pastor who swears and cusses from the pulpit as relevant. I see him as a bad example and irrelevant to what really matters-preaching the truth of God’s Word. oops sorry. Got off on my soap box.

    • March 20, 2013 at 5:27 am

      No, I get it, Bill. It seems too many of spend our energy on being relevant instead of being what we should be. We are conformed, not transformed.

      • March 20, 2013 at 6:20 am

        Some of this, perhaps, comes as a result of trying to “become all things to all people so that by all possible means (we) might save some”. Or it could just be because we want to be liked. Christians have gotten a bad rap in culture because we have been perceived as being unloving and judgemental (to those outside the faith) while being “hypocritical” and excusing the sins of those in the faith. Recent publications have highlighted the fact that although many think Jesus was pretty cool, they don’t like His followers. We, of all people, want to be loved and accepted and we want our message to be loved and accepted, also.

      • March 20, 2013 at 6:26 am

        Tammy, that is definitely a fine line. I think we need to take the opposite approach than we normally do. I think we need to hold higher standards for the “family” than the world. The world is just doing what they are doing. Jesus would say, and I paraphrase, I love you, so go and sin no more. But since we are om the fold, we need to follow His standards.

  2. robshep
    March 20, 2013 at 7:18 am

    Great thoughts. Where I see this become the biggest turn off is when someone is not authentic. To grow a gottee because all youth pastors have gottees may be relevant but unauthentic if that’s the only reason you have one. I don’t think we can ever keep up with the trends of culture. We shouldn’t be stuck in the 1950’s but we also shouldn’t try to make the gospel relevant by watering it down. I think authenticity does this.

    • March 20, 2013 at 7:38 am

      Exactly. I don’t do No Shave November because it wouldn’t be authentic. And I want to offer grace to everyone without diluting what it is all about.

    • March 20, 2013 at 12:54 pm

      Rob, buddy, pace yourself on the goatee bashing;-)> I jest, i jest and I totally agree. I wrote a post last year called Authentic is the New Plastic. What you described is plastic.

  3. March 20, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    Good perspectives, Larry. The relevance can’t come at the cost of The Walk.

  4. March 20, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    I can get down with this. I like the thought about speaking the truth being the greatest form of love. It’s definitely one of those “both/and” issues, where our words need to represent our love, and so do our deeds. So if we’re loving them by the message we deliver, but then failing to love in how we treat them, or vice versa, it’s not real love.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

