Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Classis Deuceology: The Cart Before The Horse

Classis Deuceology: The Cart Before The Horse

This is an older post from a couple of years ago.

I bought a truck two Saturdays ago.  Before you start congratulating me, understand that I now have a new monthly payment that I didn’t have.  I’m not sure that is worth congratulating someone over.  If you haven’t bought a vehicle lately, I can’t begin to tell you what a stressful situation I find the process.  I spent that day driving to one dealership only to find myself driving to another, then another and another and another again and finally to the final one.  However, it was one encounter that I really want to talk about here on.

I found myself at one dealership in my reasonably local area.  I was looking at some trucks when a salesman finally came out to see me.  I asked him how much the truck cost.  He asked me to come into the dealership to discuss it, which I found a bit odd.  We went in and he began asking me a lot of questions.  How much did I want my payment to be?  Would I trade a vehicle?  How much would I put down?  Finally, he asked for my social security numbers so he could pull my credit.  At this point I asked him why he needed this to give me a price for the truck.  He acted like he wanted to dictate to me which truck I would buy.  He got the cart before the horse.

Instead, I went down the road, test drove a truck, got a price, made an offer and bought a truck.

So, what does that have to do with anything and why would I talk about it on this very important blog that you are reading?

We do the same thing in the church.

We profile people when they come in.  We identify them by what they are wearing or the car they drive.  We profile them by the way they act or how their children behave.  We decide how spiritual they are and if they’re “right” with Jesus by how many times they come through the doors each week.  We decide there must be something wrong with their relationship with Christ by looking at their “countenance”.  Just by looking at them and sizing them up, we decide what they can do in the church.  You name it and that’s how we profile them.  And do you know what we want?

We want them to come in clean.  Perfect.  Mature.  We don’t want to deal with that messy stuff.  Bring them in.  Set them down all nice and pretty with a bow tied on them,  ready to be productive, tithing, three times a week church members.

Don’t tell me that doesn’t go on.

You either do it, have done it or you’ve had it done to you.  How do I know?  I’ve had it done to me and I’ve done it.

I’ve gotten the cart before the horse.

What about you?  Has someone gotten the cart before the horse regarding you?  Have you gotten the cart before the horse?

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. March 21, 2013 at 11:27 am

    I’m pretty good at judging people. Let me rephrase that- I’m pretty bad in how I form opinions of people before I know them! It’s convicting when I remember the grace I’m given and how much I owe the same grace to others.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

