Home > Christianity, Faith > April Foolishness

April Foolishness

Happy April Fool’s Day!!!

A couple of years ago I started this blog.  It was the successor of two previous blogs that I had tried to write.  Neither of those really amounted to much, not that this one has either.  But this one has been much more “successful” than either of those other two thought about being.

I originally started out to write this blog about faith, family, football and foolishness.  At least two of those have gone by the wayside, though the influence is still there.

I don’t write about football anymore.  I realize that while I love watching my beloved University of Tennessee Volunteers, writing about them is almost pure torture.  I feel like I am outside of myself when I write about it.  I was even approached about writing about the Vols on a regular basis for a website recently, but I haven’t pursued it because I’m afraid that it would change how I look at the games.

However, the picture you see of me on the blog is a direct result of my original purpose of including  my football passion in this blog.

The other thing that I included in the beginning was foolishness.  I wanted to include humor in this blog.  That didn’t work out too well.  I upset a few people with a post that was intended to be satire.  I eventually realized that I’m not good at writing humor, so that aspect of what was originally behind this blog has been  dropped for a while.

*****

Today, though, I do want to talk about some foolishness.  It’s the kind of foolishness that I hope that we can all get behind.  It upsets people like my previous foolishness in this blog, though not in the same way.

It’s the foolishness of God.  It’s the foolishness that is wiser than man.  It’s the foolishness where God would come to earth in the form of the Son.  It’s the foolishness where dying on the cross would bring life.  It’s the foolishness of believing that He would defeat death and give us Life.  It’s the foolishness of waiting for His return.

I guess I haven’t given up on writing about foolishness after all.

Are you an an “April Fool” for the Lord today?

  1. April 1, 2013 at 5:15 am

    I reckon i was rather foolish yesterday since “the word of the cross if foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” I never have been much for using April Fool’s Day as a day of foolishness, but the kind of foolishness that world finds nuts, I will gladly be.

  2. April 1, 2013 at 5:16 am

    Oh btw: i can see why covering the Vols can be seen as foolishness. I’m just saying……

  3. April 2, 2013 at 6:21 am

    So true, Larry. His ways are not our ways. No way would we have ever been able to come up with the salvation plan that God did.

    • April 3, 2013 at 5:27 am

      David, we would invent something the exact opposite of His plan.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

