Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > From The Archives: America’s Got Talent, The Church Has Gifts

From The Archives: America’s Got Talent, The Church Has Gifts

Last night I watched the season premiere of America’s Got Talent.  I will be watching off and on all summer long to discover if America, in fact, does have talent.

A talent, by definition, is something that someone is inclined toward naturally.  It’s an aptitude or ability that someone just has.  They can develop it and improve it, but they just naturally have these talents.  It’s something they are born with, like singing.  By the way, I was not born with the ability to sing.

So while American can have talent, the Church has something completely different.  When someone becomes part of the Church by becoming a follower of Christ, they are somehow given a gift.  This is totally different from having a talent.  As I’ve thought about it recently, here are some things that I have thought about it.

1.  The gift you are given is because of the Gift of Eternal Life you are given through Christ.

2.  Talents come from being born naturally.  Gifts come from being born again supernaturally.

3.  Talents enable you to do something you naturally have the ability to do.  Gifts enable you to do something you naturally do not have the ability to do.

4.  You can develop both your talents and your gifts.

5.  Many people in the Church will try to rely solely on natural talents rather than supernatural gifts.  This is to the detriment of the Church.

6.  Many people in the Church will fail to attempt to discover their supernatural gifts.  This too is to the detriment of the Church.

7.  The Church and a church will act biblically when followers of Christ use their gifts to glorify Christ.

I’m sure there are other things that one could think or say about spiritual gifts.  Do you know what your spiritual gift(s) are?  Do you use them within your church?

  1. April 2, 2013 at 5:33 am

    it has always bugged me somewhat when someone says, “They have a gift to play, sing, etc.” No, unless that we given supernaturally at conversion or when prayed for and needed it is a talent. That talent should obviously be used for God’s glory, but as you state, there is a difference between talent and gift. Well said Larry.

  2. April 2, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    You are right on brother. I could see others God given gift way before I understood what mine was. My pastor wife ask me to start a bible study and I ask her, do you know something about me I don’t know? My gift is not the gift of teaching but the gift of exhorting that God has used in the teaching areas some. Singing was my natural talent, and God used the natural and supernatural together for years. Understanding brought great freedom to me from compariong as Bill wrote about today. Blessings.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

