Home > Christianity, Faith > Should I Work For A Faith Based Company?

Should I Work For A Faith Based Company?

Occasionally I see a question pop up.  Perhaps I hear it in some conversation that I am having or overhear.  Maybe it’s in a blog post, a tweet or a Facebook status.  That part doesn’t really matter.

The question that I run across is this: Should I work for a faith-based company?

There are several variations of this that I hear.  Should I enter ministry?  Should I go to the mission field?  Should I go to seminary and become a preacher?

Sometimes, though, I think there is another question at the heart of what many of them are asking.

Is what I am doing enough for the Lord?

 *****

I think many of us get on fire for Jesus and think we are wasting our lives away in our occupations.  We think there is no Godly good in being a butcher, a baker or a candlestick maker.  We wonder if our lives amount to anything in the normal, ordinary drudgery of a “regular” job.

I know.  I was there.

*****

In 2001, I left a job that I had been at for almost five years.  I had worked my way up in the company.  I was on a path to success.

It wasn’t good enough.  I had to be a preacher.  I had to go to seminary.  I just knew that I had to be a pastor.

So, I went to seminary.  For one whole year, I went to seminary and took the classes.  I did pretty well in school.  I had the 8:00 a.m. Greek class.  I took the theology classes.  I learned church history.

Guess what?

I also worked three jobs.  I worked at UPS sorting packages.  I delivered newspapers.  I worked at a running store.  I killed myself for an entire school  year.

Then I left.  I couldn’t take it anymore.  My family and I came home.  I was burned completely out.  It was the hardest year of my life.

*****

Since then I have returned to my former employer.  I have been fairly successful.  I have also preached at a campground for a solid ten years.  There are untold ministry opportunities within my church.  The Lord is going to show those He has planned for me in His own time.

I don’t need to work for a faith-based company.  I don’t have to.   I simply need to work in the company and the church my faith in Christ leads me.

Is what I am doing enough for the Lord?  Never.  It never could be.  It doesn’t have to be.

What He did on the cross is enough.  Everything else is pure gravy.

 Do you ever think you should work for a faith-based company?  Or enter ministry?  Have you considered you have been planted in the mission field God intended for you?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. April 3, 2013 at 5:10 am

    Larry, I work in a missions field every day. I don’t work at a faith-based company, but I have the opportunity to share my faith – sometimes it’s through words, but mostly it’s through my actions.

    • April 3, 2013 at 5:23 am

      Exactly, Jon. I think we fall into a trap of thinking we can’t do anything worthwhile without becoming a “professional” Christian.

  2. April 3, 2013 at 5:13 am

    While my answer to your questions are “I am already there” you have touched on something really important. I used to hear “do you want to hear full-time ministry then come forward” and used to get really irritated with that statement. They were saying that someone who is not preaching or a missionary (or some variation of that) is not in full-time ministry. Say what? Larry, you are in full-time ministry and to be honest, I admire and look up to people who take their faith seriously in/to the marketplace. don’t ever apologize for that.

    • April 3, 2013 at 5:24 am

      Amen Bill. We all just need to look at the fact we are missionaries no matter where they are.

  3. April 3, 2013 at 5:13 am

    Should be “is” not “are”

  4. April 3, 2013 at 5:54 am

    We easily fall into that trap of thinking we need to be “doing” something more important. And, yet, if our eyes and hearts are open God will use us right now, right here. Good reminder, Larry

  5. April 3, 2013 at 11:10 am

    This is great insight Larry. I wonder if we often separate “ministry” from other professions and that is COMPLETELY the wrong attitude and approach.

    • April 6, 2013 at 8:47 am

      Right on, Jim. Whatever we do should be “ministry.”

  6. April 3, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    Great post Larry………..this is what the christian community needs to hear….the mission field is all around us…our ministry no matter what we do is the same as Jesus, He came to seek that which was lost. To heal the broken hearted with His message. Our mission has a great phrase that encourages us to reach beyond our world…where ever we are. We now serve in the states and my neighbor, those I meet in every day life is beyond my world…they are the ones God wants me to reach out to. A life following the Lord is ministry no matter what we do. When we seperate it then it’s all about us and not Him…Let me say it again…great post my brother.

    • April 6, 2013 at 8:47 am

      Exactly, Betty. We are all on mission wherever we are.

  7. April 3, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    i love this post, larry! everything is of god and we all have talents and gifts that can be to his glory – and not just at a “faith-based” firm. rock it dude!

  8. April 3, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    This post is perfect. I won’t even put more words here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

