Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > That Every So Often Post About Wifely Submission

That Every So Often Post About Wifely Submission

I missed it at first. Jan saw it though and told me about it. There it was when I finally had time to check it out: my friend, Faye, wanting my thoughts on a bible teacher’s post about a wife not submitting and performing her “duties.”

The example he used was that she wasn’t doing the dishes. Now, to be fair, he didn’t lose me at first. I was with him during his first couple of points. But when he got to this point, I had to break with him. He said something like this: If the wife doesn’t do the dishes, the husband must gently explain to her what she must do and not do her job for her.

Say what?

Before I go further, let me paint myself into a corner for you. I’m a fairly conservative male. A husband. I believe that husbands are to be the leaders of the family unit. I’m still pretty jiggy with pastors being men. And if you don’t like that about me, I’m ok with that too.

But I don’t believe that women should be subservient like what was described in the post I read. What I read was not biblical submission. It was man’s misinterpretation of what that is all about. I’m not even going to go into explaining all of my thoughts about what biblical submission is. What I really want to talk about is WHY men and women have a problem with biblical submission.

Yes, that’s right. I said it. Men AND women have problems with biblical submission. Not just the women and wives, guys. Not just the husbands and men, ladies.

We all have a problem with it. And it all boils down to one thing.

We all have a problem submitting to God.

When we all come to a place of submitting to God, then none will have a problem submitting to each other (yes, that’s in the Bible. All of us should submit to each other first.) Then wives won’t have a problem submitting to their husbands. And husbands won’t have any trouble loving as Christ loves the Church.

*****

For the record, I try to help Jan wash the dishes often. And I help fold towels and clothes and even prepare our clothes for work each day. I guess the fellow that wrote the post I read would say I’m doing Jan’s work for her. Well, you know, she cooks and cleans and goes to work everyday in pain and doesn’t complain about it. What better way for me to love her?

What do you think about wives submitting and husband loving? And each of us submitting to each other?

  1. April 19, 2013 at 4:50 am

    If my husband told me my “duty” was to wash the dishes and refused to “do my job for me,” I would tell him okay I’d wash the dishes if he’d go make me a sandwich.

  2. April 19, 2013 at 1:34 pm

    My flesh rose up big time when I read that post. I appreciate your words. I think you’re spot-on. I do agree that I’m to submit to my husband, but I don’t think that means I’m his slave.
    Thank you for this.

    • April 20, 2013 at 6:50 am

      Faye, somehow I don’t think that guy would think Jack was doing things right. 🙂

  3. April 20, 2013 at 6:44 am

    I reckon to this guy I am a real wuss. I help with dishes, do laundry, clean the bathrooms, sweep, mop, (I don’t cook simply because i don’t want to know how except for opening a can), as well as anything else I can help with. I see no division of labor talked about in the Bible. She works full-time and has some physical pain that sometimes makes it hard for her to get around. So I show my love to her by doing. That guy is cockeyed. And wrong.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

