Home > Christianity, Faith > A Shocking Confession

A Shocking Confession

What I’m going to do today may shock you. It may change your view of me forever.

I love the Bible. I love to read it. I love to teach it and preach it. However, there is one book of the Bible that I don’t like and you won’t believe which one it is.

I don’t like the Psalms.

Ask most people to name their least favorite book in the Bible, you will hear Numbers. Leviticus. Maybe 1 and 2 Chronicles.

Not the Psalms. They are beloved to most people. Not me.

Don’t misunderstand. I read them. I have some that I enjoy.

But as a whole I don’t like them. I don’t enjoy them like others do.

I think it has something to do with poetry. Poetry can be beautiful, but to just sit down and read it is difficult for me. I prefer narratives and letters.

Now, if I got to listen to them put to music, it might be a different. Maybe it I was able to hear them sung by the choirs as they were originally meant to be, I would have a totally different opinion of the Psalms.

So, if you want to know what my favorite book of the Bible is, I’ll let you know that too. It’s the Gospel of John, with Ephesians right on its heels.

What’s your least favorite book of the Bible? What’s your favorite?

  1. April 26, 2013 at 1:13 am

    Favorite – Gospel according to Mark. Least – Letter to the Romans. I can certainly understand not digging Psalms if you don’t sing ’em. They are lyrics to the oldest songs in our tradition.

  2. April 26, 2013 at 1:38 am

    Don’t tell anyone, but I’m not fond of Psalms either. I thought I was the only one.

  3. Leon Coleman
    April 26, 2013 at 6:17 am

    I am also in agreement! I realize the importance of psalms……but I am just not into the whole poetry thing!

    • April 26, 2013 at 6:19 am

      Leon, I do like it when we sing songs that include them. And thanks for commenting.

  4. April 26, 2013 at 8:08 am

    John, James, Romans are my favorites in the bible. In the old testament I like Proverbs, Job and Ecclesiastes.

  5. April 26, 2013 at 10:50 am

    Least favorite – Leviticus

    Most favorite – James

  6. April 26, 2013 at 11:05 am

    You don’t like the Psalms…whatcha talkin’ about Willis?! Just kidding. I love Psalms but I also I love John and also Romans and Philippians.

    • April 26, 2013 at 11:51 am

      Don’t get me wrong. I read them. But I feel like I’m in high school reading stuff.

  7. April 26, 2013 at 11:13 am

    Well, I love poetry and I love writing that has a rhythm to it.

    My two favorites: The Psalms & Ezekiel
    Least: Deuteronomy.

    • April 26, 2013 at 11:52 am

      Now, I like Ezekiel. It’s kind of crazy and far out. Kind of like Revelation.

  8. April 26, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    I am actually SUPER spiritual and hence don’t have a least favorite book of the Bible. 😉

    • April 26, 2013 at 9:08 pm

      That’s the way bearded guys are!!! Interestingly, this is my most viewed post of the week by a long shot. Any idea why?

  9. April 27, 2013 at 10:50 am

    Not really sure I have a favorite since I am a super spiritual kind of guy. But if made to choose…I do like Philippians. I also like history so I do like the historical books of the OT and Acts.

    Least favorite: prophecy books.

    • April 27, 2013 at 11:08 am

      Super spiritual guys usually like them all, Bill. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

