Home > Christianity, Faith > Wandering And Being Lost

Wandering And Being Lost

Prone to wander, Lord I feel it, Prone to leave the God I love

I love the lyrics from Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing.  Yes, I still love some hymns, as well as some modern praise and worship songs.  This particular line stands out to me every time I hear or sing it.  Prone to wander.  Yes, Lord, I feel it.  Yes, I’m prone to leave this God I love.

They say that all that wander are not lost.  I would agree with that.  But I think the opposite is true as well.  Some that wander are lost.  Some are wandering are lost.  Let me explain, though, what I mean by lost.

What I don’t mean in this context is salvation.  That is the topic for another post.  No, what I mean is that feeling of being untethered.  The sense of drifting away that can happen to any of us.

It’s  nothing that we intend to do.  It might start with one simple day.  One day leads to another and suddenly we have drifted and wandered away.  We have wandered and lost our way.

So, how do we prevent that?

We need an anchor.  We need something to hold us close to where we need to be.

We can start with prayer.  It’s hard to drift and wander from the Lord if we are actively talking to Him on a daily basis.  We may justify skipping a day.  Unfortunately, skipping one day leads to a couple and then a week.  Before you know it, there is no prayer life.  We have to fight for it.  Pray.  And pray some more.

Next we can be in God’s word.  It may be a chapter or two.  It doesn’t have to be a lot.  It just needs to be something where we can hear from the Lord in what He has already spoken.

Finally, it’s good to know what your focuses in life should be.  It might be two or three.  It be seven.  Call them your values or your personal constitution.  It doesn’t matter.  Just know them.  Write them down.  Keep them handy.  Use them to help you stay grounded.

Do you ever wander and feel lost?

  1. April 29, 2013 at 2:25 am

    We sang this in church yesterday, so its great to come across this blog which gently re-inforces the message of the hymn. Thanks!

  2. April 29, 2013 at 5:26 am

    I confess. I have those times of wandering. Like you state Larry, it is one of those “sneak up on you kind of things.” I have often just found myself going along and then BAM! it hits me that I have been drifting. Not denying. Not falling away. Just drifting.

    • April 29, 2013 at 7:45 pm

      The bad thing is that we often think drifting is ok, Bill.

  3. David
    April 29, 2013 at 1:16 pm

    And if you’re not careful, those wandering days turn into weeks, months and years and then you look back and wonder how you got here …..

  4. April 29, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    I must admit that I too feel like I have wandered away at times. We do have to realize that when we find ourselves apart from God that it is us that has moved. He never moves away from us.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

