Home > Christianity, Faith > Is Not Pursuing Your Dream A Sin?

Is Not Pursuing Your Dream A Sin?

A few weeks ago I wrote this post about creating art for the Lord.  Today I want to expand on that post just a bit.

*****

When the Israelites left Egypt, Moses received specific instructions about how to build the Ark of the Covenant.  Once the construction began, who were instrumental in creating the Ark?

Artists.

*****

You are an artist of some sort.  You may be a writer, painter, or gardener.  Maybe you wanted to be at one time, only to set it aside for some reason.  You had  a dream and it still lives there deep within you.

Is not pursuing that dream a sin?

*****

I’m not 100% sure of the answer to that question.  I can tell you that I think it is.  Why?  Because the Lord wants to give us the desires of our heart.  That begins with Him being our number one desire.  Our dreams and desires should then flow from Him.

Pursuing those dreams is an act, a way, of obeying and worshiping the One they come from.

*****

The Israelite artists and craftsmen uses their abilities, talents and gifts to create the Ark, the precursor to the Temple.  Now there is no building that acts as a temple for our Lord.

We are the temple of  God now.

Just like the Israelites, we should use our abilities to build the temple of God.  We should build up our brothers and sisters who are the temple as well.  Our dreams and desires should further the kingdom of God in the world and within us.

So, I will leave you with the question I asked earlier.

Is not pursuing your dream a sin?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. May 6, 2013 at 5:22 am

    That’s a tough question with an even tougher answer. I reckon I would say “it all depends on whose dream it is- God’s or yours. If it is God’s and you have a “divine directive” from Him, then I would say yes. but if it is just my dream then no.

  2. May 6, 2013 at 5:22 am

    Sorry. Hit enter before I was done. The real rub comes trying to figure out whose dream it is.

    • May 6, 2013 at 4:30 pm

      That’s the thing, Bill. My philosophy is that I check my heart. If I’m pursuing Christ and there is nothing that runs counter to Him in my dream, then I am free to pursue it.

  3. May 7, 2013 at 11:49 am

    I would agree with Bill. If its His dream for us and He is asking us to step out in obedience then if we don’t step out we are being disobedient and I think missing out on growth and blessings from God.

    • May 8, 2013 at 5:22 am

      That’s the key. Is it The dream He has given us. I have a long drawn out way of thinking about that. Maybe I need to write that post.

  4. May 7, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    I’m not sure I’d call it ‘sin’ to fail to pursue our dreams. Some of us are in a place where we know that our dreams and God’s dreams for us are one and the same, and yet we struggle to execute those dreams for one reason or another. But I agree with your points here nonetheless, and you’ve given me some good food for thought. Many thanks.

  1. May 8, 2013 at 10:39 am

Leave a Reply

