Home > Christianity, Faith > The Danger Of Loving This Present World

The Danger Of Loving This Present World

On Sunday, I wrote a post based on my first sermon of the year at a campground I preach at each year.  It was called Rescued From This Present Evil Age.  You can follow the link if you wish.  This is a sequel of sorts to that one.

Christ has rescued us from the age we live in.  The question that someone might ask is this:  What do we need rescuing from.  We can say our sins.  That is what you find in Galatians from Sunday’s post.  But there is another way to say it as well.

We need to be rescued from loving this present world.

*****

Paul wrote his young friend Timothy two letters.  Near the end of that second letter, Paul begins describing the state was in.  Everyone had deserted him.  One of them was named Demas.  Demas had once been a loyal member of Paul’s roving band of missionaries.  Something changed in Demas.  He left for Thessalonica.  Why?  Because he loved this present world.

*****

There doesn’t seem to be much difference to me in this present evil age and this present world.  I think these are two ways of saying the same thing.  Demas abandoned  the ministry and his friends because he loved the world more than he loved Christ.

*****

It would be easy to say that this was unique to Demas or people in his time.  We would be wrong if we believed that.  It could happen to us.

People swing in any one of two directions.  They try to avoid this present world, this present evil age by totally avoiding it.  The problem is that this doesn’t necessarily mean that they love the One who rescues us from this state.

Others swing in the opposite direction.  They embrace the culture to the detriment of their relationship with Christ.  Don’t dispute this.  It has happened to all of us at one point or another.

The danger is that instead of loving Christ, we love the world, we love this present evil age instead.

Do you love this present world, this present evil age?  Or do you love Christ?

 

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , , ,
  1. May 8, 2013 at 7:01 am

    I love Jesus without question. I also struggle not to love this world with all its trappings.

  2. May 8, 2013 at 7:03 am

    I love Jesus without question. I struggle not to love this world with all its trappings.

    I entered this once already but it didn’t post. So if it shows up twice you will know why.

  3. May 8, 2013 at 9:08 am

    I love Jesus and desire to love Him more.

  4. May 8, 2013 at 9:47 am

    It’s easy to focus on the creation and not the CREATOR. That is a struggle I face everyday. But once I focus on God–everything comes clearer–and I’m more at peace.

  5. May 9, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    During High School and into College I use to be a fence Christian, serving both God and doing the things of this world. It was because of God’s grace and close pastor mentors in my life that caused me to start serving God completely. Though my sinful nature sometimes get’s in the way I strive toward God and following His Commands. Great thoughts!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

