Home > Church > From The Archives: Intruder Or Introvert

From The Archives: Intruder Or Introvert

This is a post from a couple of years ago.

I almost called this one What I Am Afraid Of, Part 1.  Instead it became Intruder or Introvert.  I call it that because, quite honestly, I am an introvert.

Someone just picked their jaw up off the floor.  They cannot believe that I am an introvert.

After all, I teach Sunday school.  I have no real fear of public speaking.  I do each of these each week.  I am not afraid of these things.

However, here is what I am afraid of and it has everything to do with me being an introvert.

I am afraid of…….are you ready?…….wait for it……..group activities.  Parties.  Fellowships.  Sunday school get-togethers.

When I say that I’m afraid of them, I don’t mean I fear them in the same way that I fear rattlesnakes or copperheads.  What I mean is that when I walk up and a few of you are talking, I feel like an intruder.  I see some of you and you have known each other for decades.  I feel like I am intruding into your relationship.  I fear that I will never have that with you or anyone else for that matter.

I see that some of you have some common interest.  I hear you talk about something and speak what I almost think is a foreign language.  I see you belong to what seems like some impenetrable circle that I cannot hope to join.  And I fear that I will never have something like that.

I realize, at times, that it is really just a product of my introversion.  I realize that it is part of where I inwardly hold back.  I will only go so far before I move along.

So what do I do?  I pop in and pop out.  I will try to speak to you one on one.  Sometimes with two of you.  But the larger the group, the more likely I will move along.  If I’m hurt, I will look inward.  I will retreat to a book, a website or my blog where I will let it all hang out, sometimes with disastrous results.

I’m an introvert.  What am I afraid of?  That I am an intruder in people’s lives.

How about you?  Are you an introvert?  How does it affect your life?

  1. May 9, 2013 at 5:42 am

    I am an extrovert to the “nth” degree. I would have a bad habit of walking up to a conversation and once I knew the subject would immediately want to join in. When people turn their backs on me I might get the idea I am not wanted. 🙂 Introvert? No way!

    • May 9, 2013 at 5:58 am

      People are sometimes shocked when I tell them I am an introvert. I die inside a lot.

  2. May 9, 2013 at 11:10 am

    I am an introvert much the same way you are. I would rather not take part in big get-togethers, but I do it because I know it is good for me.

  3. May 13, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Great thoughts. This captures my mindset as an introvert exactly, though I’ve never been able to frame it quite so well. I don’t do the group thing a lot, though it seems like most of the world exists in groups. Sometimes, I sense that I’ve missed out on some experiences because of it, but I much prefer to interact one-on-one. And I’m okay with that.

    • May 13, 2013 at 11:15 am

      That’s awesome. It’s taken me a long time. I like my small groups in church, but big events drive me nuts.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

