Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > You Can’t Bore The Hell Out Of People

You Can’t Bore The Hell Out Of People

One of my favorite Twitter follows is Xianity.  Whoever is behind this anonymous Twitter handle is a brilliant writer who mixes our faith and satire in 140 characters or less.

A few days ago this tweet was sent out: LOCAL: Area Sunday School teacher dismissed after refusing to use tried and true “bore the hell out of them” curriculum.  As a former Sunday School teacher, this tiny statement resonated with me.

*****

A pastor in one of my former churches would preach every Sunday.  Each Sunday I would sit there bored out of my mind.  I was hearing the most exciting news ever talked about in a way that would never appeal to me.  There was no emotion in the dull, monotone monologues that were called sermons by some.

These sermons led to me to wonder if the man truly believed what he was saying.  Interestingly, he even spoke against emotion coming into the church.  It was almost that he was anti-emotion.  Like he was trying to purposely downplay the Gospel and its effect on those who follow Christ.

Don’t misunderstand me.  I am not into emotionalism for the same of drawing a crowd.  Many with some skill and training can learn to whip a congregation into frenzy.

However, there has to be more to it that simply delivering the news without any appearance of it affecting the emotions.  Surely, you can’t just bore the hell out of people.

*****

We have the most exciting Person that has ever walked this earth in our lives.  His message is something that draws us to come to know Him and follow Him.

Let’s live like it.

Let’s live exciting lives in the name of Jesus.  That doesn’t mean that you have to wave your hands or dance.  I probably won’t.  That’s doesn’t mean that the emotions that He gave me aren’t running high when I talk, sing or worship with my brothers and sister.  I’m not going to stand there stone cold either.

Let’s not try to bore the hell out of people.  Let’s proclaim Him in a manner worthy of the One we love and worship.

Have you ever been guilty of trying to bore the hell out of people?  Does Christ and the Gospel excite you?

  1. May 10, 2013 at 5:17 am

    Yes, Larry. Christ and the Gospel is exciting.

    • Ricky Anderson
      May 10, 2013 at 6:43 am

      Jon, I feel like that sentence should have ended with an exclamation point.

    • May 10, 2013 at 6:55 am

      Absolutely, Jon!!!

  2. May 10, 2013 at 6:29 am

    You’re post didn’t go in the direction I expected with the title. Still good though. 🙂
    I wish we could bore the hell out of, energize the hell the hell out of, preach the hell out of, love the hell out of, etc…people. Maybe what I really mean is I wish we could do whatever to get them off the path to hell. The good news is Jesus has given the ultimate sacrifice to do just that. Maybe if people better understood the depravity of hell, we would be much more excited about not having to go there, and much more thankful to the God who saved us.

    • May 10, 2013 at 6:33 am

      I tried to juke everyone out a bit….no, we can’t so it.

  3. robshep
    May 10, 2013 at 7:12 am

    I remember in high school hearing “it’s a sun to bore people with the Bible.” I don’t know if it’s a sin but we should preach with passion. At the same time make sure that we are preaching and not just entertaining.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

