Home > Christianity, Faith > The Problem With Thinking Too Much

The Problem With Thinking Too Much

I think.  A lot.  It doesn’t really matter what the subject is, I think about it.

There’s just one problem.

Sometimes I can think too much.

*****

A few years ago, I wrestled with whether or not I would go into ministry.  I thought about it constantly.  It consumed me.  I had a hard time focusing on anything.  My job performance suffered.  I was miserable.  I needed to make a decision.  Instead, I drew it out.

Obviously, I needed to think this thing through.  However, the more I thought about it, the more I was stuck not making a decision.

*****

The problem with thinking too much is what it causes in my life and in many other’s lives.

It causes paralysis.  Paralysis by analysis.

Sometimes we need to be decisive.  Make our decision.  Go for it.  Do it.  It may be the wrong one, but it’s really not something we can’t recover from.  Mistakes happen.  Wrong decisions are made.  We learn from them and move on.

Will Rogers said, “Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.”

*****

I went to a church for years wanting to make a change.  I wouldn’t make a decision at all.  I thought about it all the time.  I got to the point where I almost hated going to church.   I begged the Lord to let me leave.  I never got an answer.   I needed to make a decision one way or the other.  I decided to finally stay.  Soon after that, the Lord painfully removed me from that church.  Now, I’m happier than I’ve been in years.

*****

We’re going to make mistakes.  It’s ok.  We can live with it.  What we can’t live with is thinking so much that we don’t make any decision at all.  We have to do something.  Just do it and it will be ok.

Have you ever been guilty of thinking too much?  Did you need to make a decision and couldn’t pull the trigger?

  1. May 17, 2013 at 1:41 am

    Exactly what I been going through. I need to make a decision but I’m praying he will lead me to the right one as I snap out of this paralysis. Thanks for the post! I’m encouraged.

    • May 20, 2013 at 2:09 pm

      Just catching up…thanks for reading…I hope it was helpful

  2. May 17, 2013 at 5:41 am

    Oh, yes, I’ve been guilty too much as well. But, it’s just a form of stalling. Getting better at stepping out into the unknown.

    • May 20, 2013 at 2:10 pm

      You’re right, Eileen. We seem to want to put stuff off.

  3. Arny Sanchez
    May 17, 2013 at 9:04 am

    “Paralysis by analysis.”
    Ha!…love that.

  4. May 18, 2013 at 1:41 am

    Paralysis by analysis is an apt description. We so desperately want to be in the center of God’s will that we get frozen when the heavens haven’t opened, and no audible word is heard. I know it’s true of me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

