Home > Blogging, Christianity, Church, Faith > How I Got Laryngitis And Lived To Blog About It

How I Got Laryngitis And Lived To Blog About It

I recently moved to a new team where I work.  It’s a great team of people, many of whom I have worked with before.

One of my seniors on the team went on vacation a couple of weeks ago.  On the day she was supposed to come back, she called in sick.  Well, calling in is not quite the truth.  She texted in.  The problem?

Besides a fever, she had laryngitis.

*****

I’ve been wondering what has been going on with my blog lately.  If you have followed me for a while, you might remember that I’ve been on a journey for the past couple of years.

Two years ago, I was in a miserable church experience.  I left that church.  We went through a church search.  We settled on one, only to realize that we couldn’t get as active as we wanted due to distance.

Finally, we found a church home where we feel welcome and loved.  It has everything that we have wanted in church for years.

And it might have affected my blog.

I was happier than I have been in years in my church life.  I just had one problem.

Suddenly, I struggled to know what to write.  Not to say that I missed any posts, but I’ve struggled to put my thoughts to the keys of my laptop.

I didn’t know what to write about anymore.  I strained to meet my deadlines.

I had lost my voice.  I had developed “writer’s laryngitis.”  And I lived to blog about it.

*****

Maybe I had blocked myself.  Perhaps, I wasn’t being true to who I am as a writer and blogger.  I might have lost my passion for a while.

Hopefully, I’m coming out of it.  I feel like my mojo is coming back.  I’m enjoying it again.

You might not have even noticed this about me here in Deuceology Land.  I hope to put out better product than I have in a while going forward.

I got laryngitis and lived to blog about it.

Have you every gotten “laryngitis” and lost your voice?

  1. Kurt
    May 27, 2013 at 1:19 am

    Not yet!

  2. May 27, 2013 at 2:02 am

    Cute! I have had “writers laryngitis” a time or two myself. Glad you got your “voice” back!

    • May 27, 2013 at 9:04 pm

      Thanks Johnny. I think it’s common.

      • May 27, 2013 at 10:10 pm

        I’ll even forgive that you are a Tennessee fan. LOL

  3. robshep
    May 27, 2013 at 3:52 am

    Yes! It’s difficult to have something to say every day. Sometimes life doesn’t inspire art. When blogging feels like a chore I’ve lost my mojo. Taking a break helps. I plan on taking one in June.

  4. May 27, 2013 at 7:10 am

    I had only noticed your blogs were shorter, more succinct, than normal. But that’s not all bad in some cases. I wonder if I need to do that. 🙂 I just appreciate your thoughts, Larry, speechless or not. I do look forward to taking a break next week though. Have some guest posts that will hopefully “light up” my blog. Hint hint. lol

    • May 27, 2013 at 9:03 pm

      Bill, I appreciate you more than you will ever know. I just finished a rough draft to submit to you. It’s a bit of a take-off of this post.

  5. May 27, 2013 at 11:07 am

    Larry,
    I am glad you found your voice again. I think we all get laryngitis at one time or another. So glad you didn’t stay sick and quiet though

    • May 27, 2013 at 9:01 pm

      Thanks Chris. I think one of the keys is persevering.

  6. Ricky Anderson
    May 27, 2013 at 3:16 pm

    I get it all the time.

    I think switching up what you write about helps, like when you posted a funny one a little while back. When you don’t feel pigeon-holed, you can be more creative.

    • May 27, 2013 at 9:00 pm

      Hi-LARRY-ity #1 coming Friday. I hope it proves to be funny. I needed a changeup. That’s what I need, Ricky, to be more creative.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

