Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Why I Get Sleepy In Church

Why I Get Sleepy In Church

The other day I was sitting there in church.  It was getting late in the service.  Our pastor was preaching a good sermon.  I was enjoying it. Then it happened.

I got sleepy.

My eyes closed a little.  I wasn’t completely nodding off, but I could feel my head just begin to lean forward.  My daughter kind of tapped my shoe and causing to join everyone back in paying attention.

I really didn’t want to end up like Eutychus from the book of Acts.  It would have been embarrassing to have fallen out of my chair right there in front of everyone.  Fortunately, we are on a single level, so I think I would have survived the fall.

The big question is why was I so sleepy.

Was it because I had just  had a hard week at work?  This is true and may have contributed, but it wasn’t the total truth.

Was the sermon boring?  No.  I already said it was a good one.

Had I worked so hard on Saturday that I was still tuckered out from so much exertion?  Uhhhh….no.

I’m going to let you in on the secret.  It’s why you might have hard time staying awake.  It might explain why you have drifted off during the message.  Are you ready?

You didn’t go to bed early enough.

That’s it.  Simple enough.

If you don’t want to get sleepy in church, go to bed earlier.  SNL isn’t worth it worth it.

Do you ever struggle to stay awake during church? 

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. May 28, 2013 at 8:04 am

    if I struggle to stay awake in church I am in trouble. 🙂 As for your reason: I totally concur. It is a trap so many fall into and then say, “I wasn’t there because Sunday is the only day I can sleep in. Friday is that for me but if I go to bed at the regular time and get up 3 hours later than normal, I have slept in.

  2. May 28, 2013 at 10:14 am

    Haha! Now you’ve gone to meddlin’. With Saturday being the only full day off, we often try to cram so much into that one day, we do stay up too late without a thought for how it will mess us up on Sunday. And Bill is right. In today’s culture, most people use Sunday as their “only day to sleep in.”

  3. rickd3352013
    May 29, 2013 at 2:34 am

    Good one – only problem is, there have been times a plenty when I’ve gotten sleepy in church on top of a solid night’s sleep. Pastor was boring – and that happens. Oh, and for the record? I’m part of the praise team at a mega church now where the pastor is rarely boring, but he verges on being too much of a comedian and not enough of a preacher.

    • May 29, 2013 at 8:33 am

      Yeah, there’s a fine line between keeping me interested and being an entertainer.

      • rickd3352013
        May 29, 2013 at 11:49 am

        Yes, there is. I’d prefer more good exegetical preaching than people trying to compete with the local comedy club from the pulpit. Not against humor at all, trust me – I just prefer more gospel than one-liner.

  4. December 31, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    Hey Larry, good post with the bare bones truth. Sorry I missed it the first go around. Sleep was God’s idea, the challenge is getting in line with what He’s doing

    • January 1, 2014 at 3:58 pm

      Thanks. We definitely need to join Him in his plan.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

