Home > Christianity, Faith > We’re In Beta

We’re In Beta

I’m taking this week off.  My daughter is graduating and I’m taking some time off work.  This is a post that I wrote some time back and never found a spot to publish it.  

It’s easy to beat yourself up.  Believe me.  Trust me.  I’ve done it plenty of times in my life.  Chances are you have too.  It’s really easy to look at any circumstance in life and critique yourself to death.  We do it, often, in much harsher ways than anyone else does.

Stop it.

Stop it right now.

Yes, I know that’s easier said than done.  It’s even easier to type it and put it in a blog post.  However, we must strive to do it.

Why?

Because we are in beta.

In software release cycles, there are different cycles of development and release.  A company may begin with an alpha test.  The software is designed and tested within the company.  General release is a ways off.  Flaws are still evident.  The software team is, in simple terms, trying to get the product to work as it is designed to.

We might say that before Christ we are in alpha.  We were designed a certain way, but we have a fatal flaw called sin.  When we come to know Christ, the flaw is corrected to the point that it isn’t fatal any longer.  Sin’s penalty of death is banished.

What’s next?

We move to beta.  In the software cycle, people outside of the company that designed the software are able to use the product.  There may still be flaws, but they are considered minor enough to allow beta testers to use it.  This enables the company to work more bugs out before a general release.

So, this is where we are.  We’re in beta.  We have come to know Christ.  We are in test stage and we’re definitely being tested.  We are preparing for general release.  Will we be perfect?  No, but most of the time are able to overcome the bugs that still exists within our system.

So, stop beating yourself up.  You weren’t expected to be perfect when you reached beta stage.  You make a mistake?  You hurt someone?  You sin?  Make it right with the Lord and with others.  That’s what beta is for.

Do you know Christ?  Are you in Beta now?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. rickd3352013
    May 29, 2013 at 11:45 am

    Oh yeah – good stuff. I am definitely still a beta release, not a gold. I’m adding you to my blogroll, Larry. Oh, by the way, I found your blog from your post on Cycleguy’s Spin.

  2. May 29, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    Hi Lary,
    To tell you the truth I haven’t been reading most of your posts because I just cannot find the time. This one, kept staring at me and I did not have the heart to delete. I needed to read it and I did.

    I loved it! Sure, I too am in Beta as well, both beating myself up when I don’ts behave to my high starndard but also “Make it right with the Lord and with others.”

    About perfection? I am a long way from it. Most of us are definitely not perfect, but, the good news is that we were programmed in our DNA to be…PERFECT…in about 50.000 years.

    So, hold on to that thought and dream of Paradise on Earth because it will happen. All of us doing a bid of good every day, we raise the collective subconscious to a higher and higher level to the point that love, peace and compassion will reign… and greed, fear and violence will be on their way out.

    Congratulations for your daughter’s gratuation! Enjoy your trip!
    Blessings and Light!

    Katina

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

