Home > Christianity, Faith > What Flies Out Of Your Mouth?

What Flies Out Of Your Mouth?

We were on our way to our niece’s birthday party. It was Saturday afternoon, we were running just a tad late and it was raining. As we rounded the curve, we saw it. A mini-van was sliding all over the road in our lane and headed right for us. I jerked the wheel just enough to where it didn’t hit quite head on. The corner of the car and the front right tire absorbed most of the impact.

After the air bags ejected, but before I pulled the car out of the road, it happened. It flew out of my mouth. It was a word that used to be common in my vocabulary, but had rarely been uttered of late. That’s not the worst of it, though.

My children had never heard me say anything like that.

Soon my in-laws came to help out. They took the kids to the birthday party while we stayed back to tend to everything.

Eventually, we arrived at the party. Our wreck was the main topic of conversation. Not only that, but my son was upset. Not about the wreck. Only his words will do to describe it.

“My daddy said a bad word!!!”

*****

We learn a lot about ourselves in those situations, don’t we? In those times of extreme stress, much of our character is revealed. These times reveal our hearts.

Jesus knew this.

He said that “what proceeds out of the mouth, this defiles the man.” Why? Because what is in our hearts will come out in our speech.

If I want to know what you are like, all I have to do is listen to your speech enough to find out about you. Not the way you talk in front of me that you are thinking about. No, the everyday talk when your guard is down. That is how I know what you’re like.

I will find out what you think about people.

Your values will be revealed.

Your pride will find you out.

Your secret thoughts will no longer be hidden.

You, the real you, will become known to all.

What flies out of your mouth at any given time will be heard. And you might not like what you hear.

Have you ever said anything in a time of stress that you wish had not escaped?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. rickd3352013
    June 3, 2013 at 2:25 am

    The first question that popped into my head when I saw your tag question was “Are you kidding?” Learning to control the tongue is going to be a lifelong task if I leave it to my own devices, and even with God’s help, it is a bit slower of a process than I’d like – but it *is* a process, and it *is* happening.

    I can’t whitewash the words out of my mind, or forget where I first heard most of the ones I know (my father, naturally enough, and my mother as well as the rest of my family of origin), or even keep them from flitting through my head – but as Luther supposedly said, while I can’t stop a bird from flying overhead, I can keep it from building a nest. Well, in my case I’m having to evict an aviary that is claiming eminent domain 🙂

  2. June 3, 2013 at 9:35 am

    Scene: My son Evan and I are in the car, I’m driving (’cause he’s 1).

    *Close and scary incident*

    Me: *Biting tongue* H-T-BR-UH-AARRGH!
    Evan: Daddy?
    Me: That man! Was! A…DANGEROUS DRIVER!
    Evan: Dangerous!

    • June 3, 2013 at 9:36 am

      Ricky, I’ve been there…and I pass no judgment for what you were thinking, but didn’t say.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

