Home > Christianity > Why God Loves Gardeners

Why God Loves Gardeners

Recently I was at my in-laws on a Sunday afternoon for lunch. While waiting, I sat there with my father-in-law looking at the newspaper. I saw something he had missed. His cousin had won the “Yard of the Month” from our local garden club. I pointed it out to him and showed him the picture. My F-I-L said that he should have won it since he spends a great deal of time working on it.

*****

Jan and I have some big plans for our yard. While eating lunch Saturday, Jan even did a layout using barbecue Fritos to show me what he has in mind. We want a row of trees down one property line. A row of azaleas coming across the front on one side of our yard. A couple of trees here and there. Some raised gardens beds for vegetables over there. A small pavilion with an outdoor fireplace.. I’m not sure, though, that we are interested in winning any garden club awards.

*****

All of this makes me think about how God loves gardens and gardeners. I recently took a look at the first chapter of Genesis. One of the first things He did was create a gardener. Shortly afterwards, He planted a garden for him to tend. That was Adam’s job. We’ve all heard what the world’s oldest profession is. I beg to differ. It’s actually gardening.

We all know what happens just a little later in the garden. The serpent slithered in. Eve ate the fruit and gave it to Adam. Sin entered the world. God banished them from Eden, placing cherubim and a flaming sword there to guard it. I wonder if God looked at the garden with a bit of sadness later when the flood came and destroyed the world.

*****

Later on, the Lord put into someone’s heart to plant another garden. I imagine that they planted some trees and plants. Maybe it was designed to be a place of solitude where one could pray and spend time alone.

Jesus entered that garden and did just that. He wrestled with the task that he was about to perform. He prayed and watched his disciples sleep. He was arrested and marched off to court and the cross.

*****

Two gardens on the same path on the road to redemption. Each one led to Christ hanging on a tree.

And I believe that God loves gardeners.

Do you garden?

Categories: Christianity Tags: , , , ,
  1. June 12, 2013 at 5:13 am

    Do two black thumbs qualify me as a gardener? There’s your answer. 🙂

    • June 12, 2013 at 5:15 am

      Yeah, but you work in a different kind of garden, Bill.

  2. June 12, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    We rent a small condo with a small postage stamp yard that was overgrown when we rented. I opted out of the hired gardener that usually takes care of it so I could try my light green thumb transforming it. Gives me a good feeling to sit outside and know I have brought the small changes. The battle with all kinds of critters from squirrels and slugs remind me the huge change the fall made.

    Been to the garden Jesus prayed in…what an example for us as we tend the gardens of this world…there are slugs, snakes, critters of all kind just waiting to destroy it and us. I look forward to the perfect garden in heaven, no slugs…but wait maybe He has a purpose for them in the perfect garden. Any post that gets me thinking what I just replied is a good post to me. Thanks.

  3. rickd3352013
    June 12, 2013 at 1:36 pm

    I believe you referred to the *second* oldest profession; the third oldest is lawyer. The attentive figured out gardener was the first profession – but I wasn’t that attentive for a while.

    I know he loves gardeners – and hookers, and lawyers, and all the rest of us.

    Good post, Larry!

  4. June 16, 2013 at 10:47 am

    We garden at our house. Last weekend, we spent several hours weeding, planting, and putting wood chips in the walking paths of the garden. It looks so much better now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

