Home > Christianity, Faith > What’s Your Name?

What’s Your Name?

When I started kindergarten way back in the year of our Lord, 1973, they asked me what my name was.  I answered as I had heard it throughout my nearly five years of life.  I spoke up, almost defiantly, “Wittle Warry.”  You see, I was named after my dad, Larry.  Everyone gave me an adjective that I honestly thought was part of my name.

*****

God gave Adam his name and then gave him his first job.  This task was to name the animals.  He called the cows, cows and the unicorns, unicorns.  I wonder, sometimes, in my sillier moments if he named that first cow, Clarabelle or that first unicorn, Harry.  What?  You have never heard the legend of Harry, the first unicorn?  I’m sorry to hear that.  Brand new realities.  Brand new lives.  Brand new names.

*****

Later, after He had justified reckoned Abram’s faith as righteousness, God changed Abram’s name.  He called Him Abraham to reflect his new reality.  He did the same for Sarai, calling her Sarah.  New life.  New name.  A few years later, God did the same thing for Abraham’s grandson.  Jacob became Israel.  New reality.  New life.  New name.

*****

In India, when you come to Christ you are given a new name.  When you are baptized, you die to your old reality, your old life, your old name.  You come out of the water, literally, as someone else.

*****

We are who are in Christ are new creatures.  All things have become new.  New realities for us.  New lives for us.  Wouldn’t it be awesome if you had a new name as well.

I have a secret to tell you.  Maybe you didn’t know or weren’t aware.

You have a new name.  It says it right there in the Bible.  Look it up.

Revelation 2:17 says that the one who overcomes has a new name.

I have a theory that I can’t prove.  It may not be true.  But I think it could be.

I think that this name is the one that God writes in the book of life.  It’s the name we are given by God when we come to faith in Christ.

Maybe I’m right.  Maybe I’m wrong.  Either way, we get a new name.

A new reality.  A new life.  A new name.

Do you look forward to hearing your new name for the first time?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , , , ,
  1. June 13, 2013 at 1:04 am

    Scripture’s account of saints having new names are always fascinating. Abram…to Abraham. And the best is Saul to Paul. The new reality of our life through Christ is amazing.

  2. rickd3352013
    June 13, 2013 at 1:11 am

    Yes – I do look forward to hearing my new name for the first time. I can’t imagine the thrill it will be, but I’m willing to wait for it 🙂

  3. June 13, 2013 at 3:06 am

    That’s definitely something to look forward to! Great post, God bless you xx

  4. June 13, 2013 at 6:08 am

    I look forward to hearing my new name and i guarantee it won’t be “Billy.” Ooooh I despise(d) that name. Then again, if God wants to call me that…..

  5. June 16, 2013 at 10:50 am

    T. Neal Tarver wrote a book that talks about what heaven (and hell) might be like. In his story, he talks about the new names given to those who go to heaven.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

