Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > On Corner Pins And Boundaries

On Corner Pins And Boundaries

Lately I’ve been searching for something.  For a while, I could relate to what Bono used to sing:  I still hadn’t found what I was looking for. There were three corner pins to my property that I could not locate.

One corner was easy to find.  I knew the general spot where it was.  With my father-in-law’s metal detector, we found it easily.  It’s twin on the opposite side of my property was trickier, but I finally located it.

The one closest to the road in front of the first one proved to be trickier.  We searched with the metal detector all around where it should be, but could not do anything.  Finally, I had my kids use the Pythagorean Theorem to determine the measurements for it.  After stretching some twine from one corner and another spot, we were close.  Lo and behold, we found the pin.  That just leaves one more and it will be no problem.  I just have to measure from two corners.

There are several things that this allows Jan and me to do.  We can now plant a row of trees down the border of our property.  It lets us know where we can build a utility shed that we want to build.  It lets me know exactly where I can truly mow for my property.  It also gave me some things to think about in my spiritual life too.

I have the freedom to operate freely within my boundaries.  I can plant and build almost anything I want on my property.  I can put raised garden beds over there.  I can build my building over there.  A row of azaleas parallel to the road.  Whatever my imagination can conceive, I can do it.

We believers live a life of grace, but God certainly gives us certain boundaries on how to live.  We can do virtually anything we want to do within those boundaries.

I can build a beautiful life when I know what my lines are.   The aforementioned azaleas.  Sunflowers in my garden.  Bradford pear trees?  Why not.  Fruit trees?  Certainly.  Walkways.  Decks.  A small outdoor pavilion.  These are just some of the ideas and thoughts we have.

It’s the same with our spiritual lives.  We can fill it with all sorts of beautiful options that the Lord gives us when we know what the boundaries are.  Mission trips?  Helping the poor?  Community?  You name it.  You dream it.  The Lord has all sorts of ways we can fill up our lives within His boundaries.

The question we have to ask ourselves is if we know what those boundaries are.

Have you found the corner pins and boundaries of your life?

  1. June 17, 2013 at 5:01 am

    I believe I have found them. Boundaries are important to me in my life because they tell me what works for my life and what doesn’t. the Bible sets the boundaries and I know how far I can go.

  2. June 17, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    Like you said, we must have been on a similar wave length this morning. For the record, I used to be a land surveyor (or I worked as one) when I was in high school and college. I used to pick up nasty poison ivy as I was cutting down property lines in search of the corner pins. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    • June 18, 2013 at 2:55 pm

      Jon, I could have used your help finding these pins then.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

