Home > Family > My Day With Lauren And Winnie The Pooh

My Day With Lauren And Winnie The Pooh

The phone rang around 7:00 a.m.  Jan and I looked at each other with a sense of dread.  Who was calling?  Would it be who we feared it would be?

Sure enough it was.

It was Lauren’s babysitter calling to tell us she was too sick to watch Lauren that day.  Naturally, this put us in a bind.  Which one of us would stay home from work that day.  It was decided that I would this particular day.  I changed back into the clothes I would wear that day and soon set Jan on her way to work.  Lauren and I were going to spend the day together.

The first thing we did was watch Winnie the Pooh.  We laughed while we watched.  Pooh floated above the honey tree singing about being a black rain cloud.  Soon Tigger joined the fun.  We met Owl, Rabbit, Kanga and Roo and, of course, Eeyore.  Soon it was over and we were moving on to the next movie.

Or so I thought.

Lauren wanted to watch Pooh again.  And again.  And again.  All told, we watched Winnie the Pooh at least four or five times.  I was able to sing that I was a little black rain cloud by the end of the day.

There are all sorts of lessons that I could pull from this time I got to spend with Lauren.

I could say that it’s important to spend time with your children.  That is definitely true and something that I could tell you.

I could go spiritual and say that we should spend time memorizing the Bible like I did Winnie the Pooh that day.  That is certainly true as well.

I’m not going to do any of that, though.  All I’m going to say is that I’ve never written a post that highlighted my one and only daughter.  I love her and want everyone to know it.  I love her so much that I spent an entire day watching Winnie the Pooh with her.

Who do you love enough to spend an entire day watching Winnie the Pooh with them?

  1. June 19, 2013 at 5:16 am

    My girls were never into da Pooh. Thank God for small miracles. 🙂 however, I have watched Saved by the Bell and in the case of the oldest read countless Sesame Street books. I was so thankful when she graduated to reading books. My youngest was my Voltron/Back to the Future watching child.

  2. philsname32
    June 19, 2013 at 8:20 am

    I have 4 nephews and 3 nieces that I only get to see once or twice a year; I’d watch Winnie the Pooh over and over with any of them.

    • June 20, 2013 at 6:43 am

      Sounds awesome, Phil. I’m sure they would appreciate it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

