Home > Christianity, Faith > I Love To Tell The Story

I Love To Tell The Story

A few years ago I was embarking on getting a seminary degree.  I haven’t taken a class in years, but I am about one-third of the way through gaining my M.Div.  Life has gotten in the way and other priorities have taken precedence.  Perhaps one day, when life allows, I will go back and finish.

One of the classes that I took was a preaching class.  The requirements of the class were pretty simple.  After a few classes of lecture, we simply had to preach.  Each of us were assigned a section of scripture.  When it came our time, we preached our passage.  Our professor graded us, and we also received feedback from our peers.  I did ok.  I think I made a solid “B”.  I believe I would do a better job now, given that I have spent the past decade preaching each Sunday for half the year.

What stood out to me, though, was what the professor said was the strength of my presentation.  He said that I was a good storyteller.  I was able to connect with him and my fellow students by telling them stories.

***

I have thought about this event often over the years as I find myself connecting with people.  It doesn’t matter what I’m doing.  I may be at work or someone at church.  I find myself doing one thing.  In the midst of conversation I do one thing that I enjoy the most.

I love to tell the story.

***

I love to tell the story…..twill be my them in glory…..to tell the old, old story….of Jesus and His love

***

You and I have a story.  Mine has some bare bones that I can give.  Born in Savannah, Ga.  Raised in Morristown, TN.  Married in Townsend.  Now living in the Holler.  But there is so much more.

Take some time to pay attention to your conversation today.  Notice that much of your conversation is a story.  You will tell a story and listen to a story.  What you did last night.  Your ride in to work.  What you will be doing tonight.  Life is basically a story.

***

Most of you who visit with me on a daily basis are believers and followers of Christ.  The gospels that tell of  Jesus are stories.  The most powerful and truthful stories that we can imagine.  The story of Christ is the most incredible thing that we come across in our lives.  It is a story.

Do you love to tell the story?

Will it be your theme in glory?

Do yo love to tell the story of Jesus and his love?

What is your story?  What story do you love to tell?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

