Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > 3 Great Questions To Start Your Day (And Week)

3 Great Questions To Start Your Day (And Week)

I ask a lot of questions.  It doesn’t matter if I’m reading a book, magazine or watching a show or a movie.  I ask questions about what is going on.

To start out today and this week, I want to share three questions that came to mind recently.  I thought it would be a good idea to ask myself these particular ones regularly.  They might benefit you as well.

How will I glorify God today?

Something that I want to do is glorify God in my life.  Paul tells that “Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”

Jesus tells us that the greatest commandment is to “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind.”

If I can do those two things, I might have succeeded in answering that opening question.

How will I add value to someone today?

Paul wrote to the Ephesians that the Lord gave certain roles in the Church for the “building up of the body of Christ.”

The writer of Hebrews says that we should “consider how to stimulate one another to love and good deeds”.

The second greatest commandment, after the first that Jesus told us, is to “love your neighbor as yourself.”

If I can do those three things for someone today, then I can edify them and add value to their life.

How can I further the kingdom and the gospel today?

Jesus told us to make disciples.  We do this by going, teaching and baptizing.  This command is the main conduit through which we answer these other two questions.  We further the kingdom and the gospel by loving God and loving others.

If we ask ourselves these three questions every day, we are well on our way to living the life that God has in store for us.

What questions are you asking yourself today?

  1. June 24, 2013 at 4:08 am

    Questions I ask myself – What have I learnt about who God is today? How am I going to allow that to change my life?

  2. June 24, 2013 at 5:48 am

    Other than “what is on my agenda for today?” I really have none at the moment. However, these are great questions to ask.

    • June 25, 2013 at 5:14 am

      I usually have to ask myself your question as well, Bill….and I have to write it down.

  3. June 24, 2013 at 6:45 am

    Great questions! I’m asking myself how I can catch up on some sleep. I’m slap tired.

    • June 25, 2013 at 5:16 am

      Rob, autocorrect just tried to call you Ron again. And I imagine it will be that way for you for a few days.

  4. philsname32
    June 24, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    Good advice. I like to think that I live for these questions on a daily basis, but I like the idea of reminding myself daily by asking them.

    • June 25, 2013 at 5:15 am

      I think most of us need the reminder, Phil. We humans are a forgetful bunch.

  5. June 24, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    We often begin our day by asking God to help us “be a blessing to others”. I really like question 2 and will be keeping that in mind starting tomorrow.

    • June 25, 2013 at 5:17 am

      Being a blessing to others is important. Thanks for the reminder.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

