Home > Christianity, Faith > How Has Fear Held Me Back?

How Has Fear Held Me Back?

I asked my Twitter and Facebook buds to ask me any question and I would answer them here on the blog.  I got several great ones to answer on Friday for the next edition of Hi-LARRY-ity.  However, I did get one serious one.

My good internet pal, Ricky Anderson, better known as Arthur2Sheds, asked me this doozy:

What have you always wanted to accomplish, but have never tried out of fear?

There are actually several things that fear has kept me from accomplishing.  I will throw three out there.

First, I’ve been a runner all of my life.  I was running, literally, around the house before I was in kindergarten.  I would get my grandma to time me running around her house.  My favorite part of football practice was running.  The coaches would sometimes even let every one else go and hold me back because they knew I loved it so much.  I ran my first 5k in the 6th grade.  I ran track in high school.  I’ve run ever since.  But there’s one thing I’ve been afraid to try.

I have yet to run a marathon.  For some reason I’ve not been able to get over that hump.

Second, I’m a homebody.  When I get off work, I like to go home and not leave.  On Fridays, I’m perfectly content to go to the Holler, (that’s for you, Ricky), and not leave the entire weekend.  I like to work in my yard and make my home an oasis from the world.  So, I’m a little bit afraid of doing this one thing.

I’ve never been on a mission trip.  I feel like I should, but I’ve always opted out.  I’ve never really cared anything about leaving the country.  I go out-of-state once each year, but by mid-week, I’m ready to go home.  I get homesick very easily, so I’m afraid of going on a mission trip somewhere and being away from home.

Finally, there is one thing that I’ve piddled at, but have not really moved forward on.  For some reason, it’s every easy for me to write this blog every day.  I have no problem with that.  There is something, though, that I’m afraid of.  I think it goes back to elementary school and being laughed at for something I wrote.

I’m afraid to write a book.  I want to write one.  In fact, I want to write several.  I have a couple of eBooks that I want to write and share with you good folks (you will hear more about that soon).  I want to write a couple of novels.  But fear has held me back.  And I need to beat it.

There are three things that fear has kept me from accomplishing:  A marathon, a mission trip and a book.

What has fear kept you from accomplishing?

  1. June 25, 2013 at 2:45 am

    Larry, like you, I’m afraid to write a book. Somehow the idea of it psyches me out. I have ideas, and unfinished manuscripts, but I’m afraid. I’m not sure what I’m afraid of though: the time, the reception, or the work itself.

  2. June 25, 2013 at 5:10 am

    There are several things I haven’t done…I’m not sure I would call them a result of fear. One is a mission trip. But it isn’t fear. It is more one of desire. Does that make sense? Second, I wanted to ride my bike cross country with some friends but it wasn’t fear. it was more money and time than anything. Third, I have some people telling me I ought to write a book. it is more a result of “where to start” than anything. out of them all, I would say the latter would carry the most “fear” with it.

    • June 25, 2013 at 5:18 am

      I know how you feel there, Bill. Starting seems to be the hardest part.

    • June 25, 2013 at 10:55 pm

      I understand, Bill. There are things I don’t desire. I would love to read a book you would write, though.

  3. June 25, 2013 at 8:02 am

    Fear has held me back in my life on many occasions. Although, I did face the mission trip fear years ago and LOVED it…ended up going back a couple of more times. Right now my family is in the moving process and I feel like I am coming to some crossroads where I will need to face another round of fears. I want to continue taking steps into the unknown trusting He will catch me when I fail.

    • June 25, 2013 at 10:54 pm

      Eileen, that’s the thing about fear. The more we defeat it, the greater the victory.

  4. philsname32
    June 25, 2013 at 8:26 am

    It’s cliche maybe, but speaking publicly even through blogging. I know I have things to share, but it takes everything within me to do it. I’ve taken speech classes and made myself do toastmasters for a while to try to combat it, but I still struggle with it.

    • June 25, 2013 at 10:53 pm

      I used to hate speaking. The first time I ever had to give a speech, my nose started bleeding. Now, I do it every week. That is one i’ve overcome and I now love it.

  5. Ricky Anderson
    June 25, 2013 at 11:29 am

    You being afraid to write a book or go on a mission trip seems absurd to me, because I know you can do it. I wonder what I’m afraid of that others know I can do.

    As for the marathon, that’s not absurd. Not running is better than running. Duh.

    • philsname32
      June 25, 2013 at 12:06 pm

      Agreed

    • June 25, 2013 at 10:52 pm

      You’re right, Ricky. Fear is absurd. It makes us think there can be no recovery from it. I’m pushing through on the book, though. 20% down.

  6. June 25, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    i’m definitely a homebody, too, larry, and can relate to the idea of a mission trip. i always feel a tug in my heart to go on one, but fear holds me back.

    as far as writing a book? i’m not afraid to write another one; i’m just afraid it’ll suck.

  7. June 25, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    I’d read your ebook. Look forward to it.

    • June 25, 2013 at 10:49 pm

      Thanks Stephen. I have about 20% of the rough draft complete. Shooting for another 10% tomorrow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

