Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > How Old Is The Earth?

How Old Is The Earth?

Last Friday I asked folks on Twitter and Facebook to give me questions and I would answer them. I was hoping for questions to which I could give wacky answers. My friend, Brock, cheated and asked me a wacky and a serious one. You will have to wait for the wacky one, but today you get the serous one. Brock asked me this question:

How old is the earth?

I suppose that is the chance you take when you write a blog about faith. Someone is going to ask you Biblical questions that people disagree on and cause some controversy in the world and in the Church. Thanks Brock!!!

So, here’s my answer.

I don’t know.

Let me explain something to you. I am what most people would call a conservative Christian. I’m an evangelical. Some might call me a fundamentalist, though I know some fundamentalists and I wonder if they don’t think I’m apostate. However, in most of the circles I run, and I have been known to run in circles, you are supposed to believe one things:

God created the world in seven literal, consecutive days. Then He rested. If He did that , then the world would be something like 6,000 to 10,000 years old,

That’s what I want to tell you. That’s what I want to believe. That is what I have believed most of my life. However, I’ve come to a conclusion.

It doesn’t matter to me.

If God created the world in 6 literal, consecutive, 24 hour days, I’m down with that. He could do it if he wanted. The Flood could have screwed everything up regarding the strata and fossils. I lean toward this one.

If the Gap Theory was the way God chose to create, that’s cool. A day is like a thousand years and a thousand years are like a day. he is outside of time, so the timeframe doesn’t matter much to the Lord.

If the world was created through the Big Bang, then God was the Big Banger. He kicked it off.

No matter what, I believe that God created the world. How he went about it or even when matters little to me.

I will worship Him no matter how old the earth is. I plan to spend eternity with Him.

Brock, I’m sorry I can’t give you a definitive answer.

How old do you think the earth is?

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. June 27, 2013 at 5:45 am

    Can I answer your question this way: I don’t know and I don’t care? Because I don’t. Either one. I think it is a non-sensical argument to even deal with let alone waste valuable time on. God can do and do it anyway He darn well pleases and I am okay with it. IT IS NOT a matter of salvation. “You believed in my Son.” Check. “You didn’t believe I created the earth is a literal time frame.” Check. “Oh sorry. No enter heaven.” How bizarre is that? Oh, Larry, good answer (even though you run in circles).

  2. June 27, 2013 at 9:33 am

    I agree it’s one of those topics that you must believe from a “meta” level. It’s like eschatology where it’s pointless to debate on low level concepts like pre-triubulation and the details of the mark of the beast. The only meta concept to believe that we must always be ready and that Jesus is coming back.

    • June 27, 2013 at 9:03 pm

      Amen!!! I like that word you used —meta

      • June 28, 2013 at 9:18 am

        Thanks God gave me a blog idea for it, hopefully I will get it done today. We’ll see.

      • June 28, 2013 at 9:27 am

        Make sure I see that one. I would love to read it.

  3. June 27, 2013 at 10:22 am

    I’m with you, Larry. How He did it means nothing to me in comparison to my belief THAT He did it. There will be things I won’t really have answers for until the end. That’s why they call it faith.

  4. philsname32
    June 27, 2013 at 11:08 am

    Agree with your assessment and Bill’s answer below. I was in a class one time where someone was arguing the merits of the gap theory and made a very compelling argument, but to debate this issue doesn’t really matter to me. I believe that Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the Life. If He wants to come reveal what really happened in the beginning I would listen; but if I die not knowing how He did it all and in what amount if time, I’m cool with that.

  5. June 27, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    I’m with you, Larry, on this, and I’m sick to death of this issue being made a litmus test for orthodox faith. I don’t know, and I don’t care (as Bill said) are great answers. The real questions are:

    What do you make of My Son?

    What will you let My Son make of you?

    • June 27, 2013 at 9:01 pm

      Chad, it’s not that I have my ideas and opinions about it, but I’m not willing to let that get in the way of those important questions you bring up.

  6. June 27, 2013 at 10:25 pm

    Nice job, you answered it perfect. I agree it does not matter BUT it is a big topic for nonreligious/nonchristians. I will be using your answer in the future. God is Creator, King and sent His son Jesus to pay the price for my sins!! The rest is is details!!

    • June 27, 2013 at 10:28 pm

      I agree that it is a huge stumbling block for non-believers. The thing is, if they aren’t willing to listen, then it really just doesn’t matter.

  7. June 27, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    My answer is like pretty much everyone else’s, though I like how C.S. Lewis handled the question (see Mere Christianity – it would take too long to cover it here).

    I’m positive I’d be considered apostate by some fundamentalists, but their opinion of me matters not – what Christ thinks of me matters all. After all, He and Abba have the final word 🙂

    This one goes into the shortcuts for the weekend 🙂 Thanks!

  8. JT Adamson
    June 30, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    Some would say that your belief makes you a prostate, but honestly I find that claim disgusting and physically impossible.

    As for the GAP theory, I think they should stick with making clothing and leave the origin theories to us eschatological geniuses.

    • June 30, 2013 at 6:59 pm

      Hahahahahahahahaha!!!! Funniest thing I’ve read in forever. Hahahahahahahaha!!!

      • June 30, 2013 at 9:35 pm

        Thanks for making my evening. Really!

        The only thing that would top that would be if the entire internet went and watched my Lost Trek video and loved it, but then again, YOU watched it, so I’m good.

        (By the way, I was always confused as a kid by the hymn “Crown Him Lord of All” that I thought contained the line “Let angels prostate fall…” It was tough growing up Methodist/Lutheran.)

  1. June 28, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Leave a Reply

