Home > Blogging > The Beginning Of The End

The Beginning Of The End

Approximately five years ago I began blogging.  The reason I did so was because I had a lot of ideas and thoughts.  My friend Matt Cannon told me that I should begin to blog all of these ideas that I had.  Lo and behold, I suddenly had an outlet for all of the odd and sundry thoughts I had.  In fact, that was the name of my first blog.  Odd and Sundry.  You can probably find it, but I wouldn’t mind if you forgot all about it.  It wasn’t very good.

Soon afterwards, I began another blog.  I was slightly inspired by St. Augustine.  It was called The Confessions of St. Larry the Deuce.  Another attempt at a blog.  Another that I dropped rather quickly.

Finally, about two years ago, I began the blog you are now reading.  I have written somewhere in the neighborhood of 750 posts.  Somewhere along the way I found my voice.  So, now that I have figured some things out about this entire blogging experience, it’s time.

It’s the beginning of the end.  At least, it’s the beginning of the end of Deuceology as we know it.

I’ve been toying with the idea of moving this entire blog experience to a self-hosted blog for well over a year now.  There are things I see on some other blogs that I would like to incorporate, and I am unable to do that within the limitations of this WordPress experience.  At least, if you can, I haven’t been able to figure them out.  But there’s more to it.

While I have written about faith throughout my entire blogging career, it hasn’t been entirely focused.  I haven’t known why I was doing this other than to unleash the thoughts that bounce around in my head.  Now I do.

I want to glorify the Lord with my blog.  Maybe I’ve done that before, but not with any intentional thought.

I want to add value to others’ lives.  Again, that is something I want to make the aim of my blog.

The final thing is that I want the furtherance of the gospel and the kingdom to be what my blog is all about.

So, I want to pick up and move.  I would like to do that within this next quarter, so that give me until October 1 to achieve this goal.  I know that this will inconvenience some of you.  You have set this blog up in your reader.  I appreciate that.

To help smooth out that transition, I want to give everyone who gives up their time to read this blog a gift.  I’m in the process of writing an eBook.  It will be short, only around 10,000 words.  But it’s something that I have been dreaming of doing  for a while now.  If you read last Tuesday’s post, you know that fear has held me back

So, I have two goals.  Move this blog and write a free eBook.  By October 1.   I’m committing to them here and now.  I hope you will join me on this journey and ask how it’s going.  I also hope you will join me as I think Deuceology will get even better.

Do you have any goals for the next 90 days or so?

  1. rickd3352013
    July 1, 2013 at 1:18 am

    Larry, I can change my RSS reader almost as fast as you can establish the new blog, so go on with yo’ bad self and move to deuceology.com whenever you’re ready – we’ll cope 🙂

    Goal – within the next 90 days I hope to have read twelve more books at a minimum. I plan on having the first few chapters written for a book. I expect we’ll have tried to get over to Sioux Falls to get more of our stuff out and the place cleaned up to put on the market – but you know something? I’ll be fine if the books don’t get read, if I don’t get as far on writing as I’d like, or if we don’t get to Sioux Falls at all. I slow down now so I can pay attention to what I’m being told to do next – which sometimes throws *my* plans out the window – and I’m OK with that most days 🙂

  2. July 1, 2013 at 5:35 am

    Glad to hear you are moving on but continuing on. With the demise of Google Reader I plan to use Feedly. If unhappy I will have to just use the RSS feed. Either way I ain’t going nowhere. 🙂

  3. July 1, 2013 at 5:57 am

    Larry, I’m looking forward to the next step for you.

    For me in the next 90 days, I’ll be heading back to Guatemala. I would also like to release an eBook (90 days may be pushing it for me, but we’ll see.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

