Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > An Invitation To Build Community

An Invitation To Build Community

One of the greatest things about the past couple of years of blogging is the community that has been built here. It isn’t a large community, yet it grows constantly. I appreciate it, as I have “met” so many of you and built friendships which I believe would be there in any time of need I had.

As I mentioned Monday, the next few months will be one of transition. I want to move what I do to a self-hosted site. Here’s the kicker, though. I hope you will join me. I hope those of you that have spent your time coming here over the past couple of years will simply shift with me.

I hope that others will join us as this community grows and expands. I think it will be exciting. But it’s not just for my ego that I hope that you good folks will continue to read my random thoughts that I have daily. Here is why I want to invite all of you to continue to help me build a community here.

One reason is accountability. Knowing who will be here shapes what I write. Not that I won’t be honest, but you help me keep from going on some tangents that I am capable of.

Another is encouragement. You don’t know what you comments do for me. The encourage me and help me to write sometimes when I don’t really want to. I hope that I encourage you too. It can’t be a one-way street.

The final reason is stimulation. I hope that we stimulate each other to love and to good works. This doesn’t always come naturally to me. I need the motivation you provide. I hope I can do the same for you.

Thank you for coming back, day after day, to read my musings. You are awesome.

Is community important to you?

  1. July 3, 2013 at 5:44 am

    I am a people person so I reckon it would be correct to say “Yes community is important to me.” Even as I say that though I also know I can’t derive my self-worth from what others think of me. I know who I am in Christ. I look forward to being involved in your community for as long as you keep writing.

  2. July 3, 2013 at 6:44 am

    I hope the transition goes smoothly, Larry!

  3. July 3, 2013 at 7:31 am

    Community is crucial! I don’t think Christians get just how much we need each other.

  4. July 3, 2013 at 8:08 am

    Community is key!

    • July 4, 2013 at 2:05 pm

      Notice that nothing happens in the bible without some sort of community.

  5. July 3, 2013 at 10:43 am

    Since I blog read to gleam and get encouragement I will stop by often.

  6. rickd3352013
    July 3, 2013 at 11:18 am

    Community is crucial; not just because I like people (I don’t always, but that is another story) but also because I need to be connected to the body as well as having the accountability you wrote of. I cannot do what God calls us to do without Him, and I enjoy – as others do – what you write and how you express yourself.

    • July 4, 2013 at 2:03 pm

      I like that, Rick, how you said you can’t do what you’re supposed to without community. True dat!!!

  7. philsname32
    July 3, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    Community is definitely important to me. It has definitely become more so in the last few years as I’ve seen struggles and people that I know God placed there to help me through them. Good stuff Larry, I look forward to what’s to come.

    • July 4, 2013 at 2:02 pm

      The older I get, the more important it is and the more I have to fight for it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

