Home > Christianity, Faith > Happy July 4th!!!

Happy July 4th!!!

Independence Day means a lot of different things to me.

It is the day that we celebrate the birth of our nation.  I’m old enough to remember our Bicentennial celebration back in 1976, which ranks up there with my favorites in my life.

My sister was born one year before that in 1975.  July 4th meant birthday parties and cake for many years of my life.

It means the fireworks show that my family and I have gone to see together for the past 13 or 14 years now.  The community we live in is small, but we are quite proud of our little pyrotechnic display.

For the past two or three years, my son and I have watched the Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest from Coney Island.  Joey Chestnut has been the champ, but our favorite is Kobayashi.

We have incredible liberty and freedom in our country.  Many of us claim that we don’t have them as we used to, but we are still fortunate to live our nation.

None of this compares to the liberty and freedom we gain in Christ.  We were slaves to sin until Christ did His work on the cross and purchased our freedom.  We are definitely freed indeed.

As we celebrate today, pause and think about what Christ’s work on the cross did for us.  It gives us the freedom to truly enjoy the freedom we have living in the United States.

Have you been freed by Christ’s work on the cross?

  1. philsname32
    July 4, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    Good stuff Larry, I have and I am thankful for it everyday!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

