Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > For What Have You Been Appointed?

For What Have You Been Appointed?

I changed jobs recently.  I didn’t change employers.  I simply switched departments within the company I work for.  So far, it’s been an exciting change in my career that I have relished, even as I continue to learn what it is, exactly, that I am doing.

Along with my new position, I was asked if I would take on some other duties within the division I work for.  After I accepted, I was appointed to an additional role.  My boss wanted me in the position, and I could have said no,  but in the end he appointed me.

I wonder if that is what Paul felt like after he had his Damascus Road experience.

Paul wandered into Damascus blind.  Ananias was sent by the Lord to speak to him and give him an additional message.  Paul then spent about three years alone with the Lord.  He then went to Jerusalem and spent fifteen days with Peter and James, the Lord’s brother.  He went away for fourteen years before returning to Jerusalem for a council meeting.  In between and afterwards, there were missionary journeys.  Through all of that there were a couple of things that we can say about Paul

One is that he was set apart from his mother’s womb for his ministry.

The other is that he was appointed a preacher and an apostle and a teacher.

God set him apart from others to appoint him to be a preacher, teacher and apostle.  This is what the Lord created Paul to do.  While he was training to be a Pharisee.  While he was standing there holding the coats for those who stoned Stephen.  While he was on his way to Damascus to persecute those early believers.  He believed that he was set apart and appointed by God to proclaim the gospel.

If God was that involved in the early parts of Paul’s life despite who he was at that time, doesn’t it stand to reason that He has been involved in your’s and mine?

What have you been set apart for?

What have you been appointed to do?

For what have you been appointed?

  1. July 10, 2013 at 5:28 am

    I have often wondered what I would do if not be a pastor. Nothing comes to mind. I feel i was appointed/called to this responsibility.

    • July 10, 2013 at 5:34 am

      I’be heard it said that if you can do anything besides preaching/pastoring, do it. Otherwise…..

  2. July 10, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    Congrats on the career change. It sounds like the boss considers you a huge asset to the team. God has led me to write for the past two years, and I sense that He is beginning to use me to encourage people to become more fully alive. Quite a shift for a guy who always wanted to stay in the background and behind a camera.

  1. July 13, 2013 at 1:06 am

Leave a Reply

