Home > Blogging, Christianity, Church > 4 Reason I Need Your Prayers Today

4 Reason I Need Your Prayers Today

Folks, there are four reasons that I need your prayers today.  I rarely, if ever, come like this asking you to pray for me for things going on in my life, but today will be an especially grueling day.

First is the lightest one.  I am appearing on Michelle Moran’s podcast, People I Almost Know.  Michelle is a great friend of this blog and in the Twittersphere.  In fact, you can follow her on Twitter here.  If you have ever wanted to hear what this Southern hillbilly from East Tennessee sounds like, here’s your chance.  You will hear us discuss my blogging history, the Dunn Holler Report and all sorts of other fun stuff.  It was a lot of fun to spend some time talking with Michelle.

Second, and the heaviest, is that I will be saying farewell to someone  late this afternoon.  A longtime friend in the community I live died in an auto accident Sunday evening.  My daughter and his went to school together, graduating high school just a few weeks ago.  His boys are still in school with my son.  My heart is extremely heavy over this.

Next, I am speaking at my church tonight.  If you want to know if God has a sense of humor about the plans we make, this is it.  I had prayed that He would give me a chance to speak ONCE the campground ministry is over in October.  Of course, once I prayed that, the opportunity came almost immediately to do it well before I was really wanting to do it.  But it is all in His timing.

Finally, I have been presented a new ministry opportunity.  I don’t want to say too much about it, but I will be finding out more about it later tonight.  I have felt the Lord drawing me in this direction, but haven’t really sought it.  I trust Him in this as it will change my life somewhat as He seems to be moving me in some new directions.

Thank you for your prayers.  This is an exciting and somber day.  I believe that He will carry me along through the prayers you pray.

  1. Teresa
    August 7, 2013 at 2:13 am

    Larry, this is Teresa, Vol_Woman on Twitter. It’s an honor to pray for you and I did, as well as that poor family. You have prayed for me – when my mom had her accident on Easter 2012 and through her unfortunate non-recovery, and then her death in December. You even prayed for my brother you haven’t “met”. You don’t know how much that helped me, but it did.

    Prayers and good luck. Hug those kids a little bit for me. That’s tragic.

  2. August 7, 2013 at 2:53 am

    You got em..my prayers, I mean 😉

  3. robshep
    August 7, 2013 at 6:51 am

    prayed as soon as I read this.

  4. August 7, 2013 at 7:04 am

    Prayers said. That #2 hits home since i went through that last week.

  5. Ricky Anderson
    August 7, 2013 at 8:24 am

    Larry – done. Hang in there. And I hope tonight goes well.

  6. ecwaters67
    August 7, 2013 at 9:40 am

    I’m saying many prayers for you today, friend. This community lost a wonderful man Sunday night and our family is feeling that pain as well. We have the assurance of knowing that he is rejoicing in heaven with Jesus, but the difficulty/reality of losing someone is still having to be faced here on earth. I’m praying for your many other endeavors as well!!! God is doing mighty things through you!!!

  7. mudagoos
    August 7, 2013 at 10:21 am

    Honored to pray for you Larry! So sorry to hear of the loss of your friend. Will pray for all who know and love him.

  8. August 7, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Oh, I’m sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. I will pray for you and his family!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

