Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Praying For Warts

Praying For Warts

Something unusual has happened in my life for the past three summers.  I have developed the same problem each year.  I can’t explain it, but I have some ideas on why it happens.  None of them really matter regarding this post though.

I have developed the same warts just above my lip for three years running.

The first year it was one wart just above my lip to the left of my lip.  The next year it was two warts in almost the identical places to the left and right of my nose above the lip.  This year, just to the right.

What is going on with me?  I’ve never had any sort of wart.  It’s weird.

I went to the doctor with the first and she removed it.  Last year, she removed two.  This year, I haven’t called her yet.  Let me tell you why.

My pastor preached a sermon recently where one of the questions he asked was what we did when we got a headache.  Did we automatically reach for the Tylenol?  Or do we pray first?

I don’t think that kind of thinking precludes the use of pain reliever.  What it does, however, is help us identify where we turn in our times of need.  Do we depend on human wisdom?  Or do we turn to the Lord?

Do you turn to the Lord first before you rely on any other method of healing?

I won’t say my first thought was to pray.  I’m not quite there yet.  My first thought was say, “Crud.”  Then I thought about calling the doctor.  Finally, I prayed.

The funny thing is that the wart has shrunk.  And I was amazed.  And a little shocked.

I may still call the doctor.  I don’t know if the wart will go away.  I do know that the Lord has used the wart to teach me something about Him.  Maybe next time I will turn to Him quicker.

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. August 12, 2013 at 5:53 am

    I’ve got a certain kind (I googled it) that has grown on the right side of my upper cheek. Sort of half way between my nose and the outer corner of my eye. I see it when I talk to people. I used the wart remover (against the directions) and it disappeared, but has since returned. Maybe i will try the prayer route. 🙂

  2. August 12, 2013 at 6:30 am

    I’m like you, Larry. I have a hard time remembering to pray first. I guess because we always looking for solutions and my knee jerk reaction it to try to find one. Good reminder.

  3. August 12, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    We are quick to turn to human methods for almost everything. This often shows where our hope lies. Good words, wartboy. 🙂

  4. August 12, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    I just want you to know that I love you warts and all.

  5. August 13, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    Warts?!
    Unfollow.

    • August 13, 2013 at 9:39 pm

      My Jan still kisses me good night. 🙂

      • August 13, 2013 at 9:46 pm

        She’s a good woman. As most Jans are.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

