Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > 10,000 Reasons Being Fired From My Church Was Awesome

10,000 Reasons Being Fired From My Church Was Awesome

Two years ago today a man from my former church arrived at my home at 7:15 p.m. He proceeded to fire me from my position of Sunday School teacher. There was no explanation or discussion. It happened and he left. Subsequently, my family and I left the church that we had been members of for the better part of seventeen years.

We went through a range of emotions that included rage, anger, and disappointment. There was embarrassment, as my own actions contributed to this happening. We still had family in that church, and they had to deal with the ramifications of this event taking place.

With the two-year anniversary arriving, and two years of perspective, how do I feel about it now?

I feel awesome about it.

Sure, there is still the raw emotion that pops up when I see the folks responsible for firing me in the community. I still struggle with that. I can’t and won’t pretend that it doesn’t exist. Overall, though, I am in good shape and it ‘s ultimately the best thing that could have happened. Here are a few reasons why this turned out to be awesome:

  • I learned to know the Lord in ways that I can’t even explain
  • I learned to depend on the Lord more than I ever have in my life
  • I was able to experience several different churches during our church search
  • I made new friends at a church we temporarily landed
  • I was able to heal, even though scars remain
  • I learned many important lessons
  • I was able to help a friend who is going through a similar situation now
  • I came full circle in our lives regarding church
  • I are now part of a church where we have felt more welcome than we ever have in our lives

Those aren’t the only reasons. There are others being revealed every week, if not every day.

And there are 10,000 other reasons that I have absolutely no idea about that the Lord is using this event in my and other’s lives.

Have you ever had something that initially seemed bad turn out to be awesome?

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. August 14, 2013 at 1:22 am

    I would say let me count the ways, but I’m math challenged past a certain point πŸ™‚

    • August 15, 2013 at 5:35 am

      Rick, I hate that you had to use all fingers and toes. πŸ™‚

      • August 15, 2013 at 11:27 am

        Even worse – I had to use yours, and they are a long way from here πŸ™‚

  2. August 14, 2013 at 9:13 am

    Being “suggested” to leave a previous church landed me in Ohio where my wife was able to take care of her soon-to-die mother and I was able to pastor a church for 5 years until this church came on my radar. So many stories like that.

    • August 15, 2013 at 5:35 am

      Bill, I don’t doubt that happened. It seems to happen to all pastors I know at some time or another.

  3. August 14, 2013 at 10:58 am

    Yes–I was going through mine around the same time you were going through yours. It’s still aggravating to think about at times, but ultimately good.

    • August 15, 2013 at 5:34 am

      I remember that , Matt. It was a hard time for you, but it has turned out great.

  4. August 14, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    Yeah, there were a few moments like that with the starting of Next Level. God used it to become awesome but at the time it was like, “WHAT?”

    • August 15, 2013 at 5:33 am

      I imagine that you did run into stuff like that, Rob.

  5. August 14, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    About a year and a half ago, the administrator for the school where I was a teacher for six years, casually strolled into my classroom during my planning period (free period), sat down in a desk, and briefly told me that, due to budget cuts, I was one of a group of teachers who were not being offered a contract for the following year.

    This was at a time where my wife was halfway through her pregnancy, and we’d just bought a house.

    I still battle with anger and resentment over it, but ultimately, I know God used it for good. My current job is so much better and more fulfilling.

    • August 15, 2013 at 5:32 am

      Kevin, I remember that and remember relating somewhat to how you felt. I totally understand your battle with anger and resentment. Let’s keep fighting.

  6. August 16, 2013 at 12:14 am

    Larry, how much time do you have? πŸ˜‰

    One that sticks out is this hard time in my life that allowed me to be part of a published anthology. Matt had a piece in that book, too.

  7. May 20, 2014 at 5:26 am

    I see I commented here Larry. Since that time we have had some things come up here which have served to show God absolutely 100% knows what He is doing (and we don’t). Story after story. A big blow up in 2009 that decimated us but ultimately brought us more together and stronger. An embezzlement which galvanized us. So much and more.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

