Home > Christianity, Faith > How Do You Avoid Sin?

How Do You Avoid Sin?

What do you do when you want to sin?

Not that you really want to sin.  Before Christ, you really had no choice.  You were a slave to sin.  Everything you did was driven by sin because that which is not of faith is sin.

Now, though, you are free.  Christ has freed you from the shackles in which sin had you locked.  You have a choice now.  You don’t have to sin.

Yet sometimes you do sin.   You do what you don’t want to do and don’t do what you want to.  You have turned your head from gazing upon Christ’s glory, seeking it elsewhere.

What do you do?  What do you do when you are there on the precipice of falling headfirst into that pit of despair that we too often find ourselves in?

I don’t think we need rocket science.  Intelligence never seems to be the answer in these situations.

Willpower?  Have you found yourself to be strong enough in your own strength?

Avoidance?  You might miss once or twice, but you can’t dodge sin like you can dodge a wrench.  Sin isn’t a giant rubber ball coming at you.

Here is my advice.  I forget it way too often myself.  I’m writing this as much, if not more, for me.  I need to remember this the next time I want to sin, which I really don’t want to do.

1.       Turn to prayer – Really, how can we avoid sin in our lives if we aren’t in contact with the One who can keep us from sin?

2.       Turn to scripture – Avoiding sin is a battle, so why not take up our only true weapon?

3.       Turn to Godly “stuff” – We fill our minds and hearts with all sorts of junk, why not fill up on more positive influences?

4.       Turn to Godly Friends – I need people in my life who will encourage me and stimulate me to live Godly and avoid sin.

Depend on the Lord and what He has put in our lives to avoid sin.  It’s the only way we can.

How would you advise that we avoid sin in our lives?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , , , ,
  1. August 15, 2013 at 5:42 am

    Kind of hard to improve on your four suggestions Larry.

  2. August 15, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Good suggestions. Really–it is a reliance on the Gospel for sanctification as much as we did for salvation.

    • August 15, 2013 at 10:38 am

      I agree….and it needs to be Spirit driven, otherwise it can become legalism.

  3. August 15, 2013 at 10:43 am

    Great list. I do think not putting yourself in situations where you know you are tempted helps. I think this is why Jesus told us to cut our our eyes if they cause us to sin. I know a guy who doesn’t own a computer because he can’t handle the temptation of searching for things he should not see. Most of us though aren’t willing to be that extreme.

    • August 15, 2013 at 10:45 am

      Rob, I think it’s because we don’t truly value the Kingdom. Jesus talked about the one guy who sold everything so he could buy the field with the treasure in it. We don’t get that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

