Home > Christianity, Faith > Taking A Knife To A Wound That Has Scarred

Taking A Knife To A Wound That Has Scarred

The other night I was walking down the street of one of our local towns.  We were on our way back to the truck from a football jamboree.  We wanted to hurry so that we could get over to our son’s school when the players arrived.  Our kids were going to go to a church’s lock-in and spend the night there.  We weren’t too far from the truck when I heard him.

A guy spoke to us.  Jan spoke back and I nodded.  He asked a couple of more questions and I nodded and grunted some answers.  That was all I could muster.

This particular guy was part of an event that hurt us deeply.  He acted as though he had no idea.  For all I know, he doesn’t.

The issue is whether or not I’ve forgiven him.  Honestly, I don’t know the answer.  I know that it hurts me whenever I see him or the others that were involved.  It’s like someone running their fingers down a chalkboard.  It’s as though he has taken a knife to a wound that has healed and left a scar.

It hurts.

I know that time heals all wounds.  Sometimes, time wounds all heels.  Then there are those that played a part where they don’t know they are the villain in this story.  They don’t know that they hurt me or my family.  I’m not sure they realize anything was ever wrong.

The thing is that I don’t wish any ill upon him or the others that hurt me.  I don’t want any wrath, anger, clamor, slander or malice against any of them.  Bitterness, yeah, I have a struggle with that one.  That’s the last hurdle.  I need to overcome that one and I can’t do it on my own.  I need Jesus’ help.  The Father has given me the Spirit of His Son.  That’s it.  That’s the only way I can heal.

That’s the only way the knife can stop cutting this wound that has scarred.

Do you have any wounds that get ripped open from time to time?

  1. August 21, 2013 at 5:33 am

    Back in 2000 one man was largely responsible for my dismissal from a church (although it was not called that). I realized after we moved away that I could allow that man to run my life and chain me, or I could allow God’s Spirit to set me free. I saw him about 3 months ago at a funeral of a friend and felt nothing. it was a good feeling. I’m glad I released him and my anger to the Father. If I believed in a God who punishes those who hurt His children, then I could say this man has been punished. His health tanked big time for one. But I am not of that ilk. I’m just glad I’m free.

    • August 21, 2013 at 5:41 am

      I know I feel better than I did when it first took place. I am working through it

  2. Ricky Anderson
    August 21, 2013 at 10:05 am

    I think being willing to forgive is a huge part of forgiveness. I’ve never thought that forgiveness requires not feeling the effects of the injury any more.

    • August 22, 2013 at 6:30 am

      Good point, Ricky. The question becomes what do I do when I run into these people out in the community?

  3. August 21, 2013 at 10:09 am

    Yep–it’s going to happen again this weekend as I go back to do a wedding at a church where some people allowed Satan to use them to hurt me and others. Getting prayed up for it.

  4. Rhonda
    August 21, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    I truly believe the Lord brings those people back to pick at the scab, so we can see the germs trapped underneath. It just needed another good flushing of the Lord’s love and acceptance. Other people do not realize when they have been the knife. Ok, some wield it intentionally but most don’t. The Lord must use these people, these moments to draw us into a deeper experience with Him. You now must consciously focus on those places of bitterness. Would you have had that opportunity if he had not popped in to your life for a split second? No, you could have walked on. Consider this a gift from the Lord!

  5. August 23, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    Thanks for your honesty. I think we all have wounds that get reopened from time to time. We think we’ve moved past them only to have them resurface again.
    I’m a “recovering” perfectionist. I’ve gotten better at accepting criticism and learning from it but sometimes I find that it hurts too much and I don’t want to learn so I try to put up walls of defense. Thankfully I’m getting better at lowering the walls, learning and moving on. All in God’s amazing strength and grace.

  1. August 23, 2013 at 4:48 am

Leave a Reply

