Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Not Feeling Groovy

Not Feeling Groovy

As I write this, I sit here on a Sunday morning.   My church is probably about to finish up for the morning.  I am wiped out by a summer cold that my children passed one to another and now to me.  Based on their experience, I have about another five days left before I will be free from the effects of this minor viral issue.  I probably won’t feel my best and there will be more sniffing, sneezing and blowing.  While all of this is going on, there is one thing my mind seems to be fixated on, a set of lyrics that seem to be appropriate for the day:

Slow down, you move too fast….Got to make the morning last — 59th Street Bridge Song by Simon and Garfunkel

Jeff Goins has spent a good deal of time writing about slowing down of late.  I’m reminded of that as I sit here outside of my normal routine.  Typically I would have gotten up to read and write a bit.  Then I would have gone to the campground where I preach on Summer Sunday mornings.  Then on to church.  From there, lunch and a bit of laziness before small group.  Finally, I could rest the remainder of evening without any thought of going anywhere else.

Sometimes we need a break from all of this.  We may not even know it.  We might need to just rest in the arms of the Savior, our Lord, without anyone else or anything else going on.

The Lord may have been telling us to slow down for a while.  We may have ignored the signals, the warning signs.  Perhaps we kept pushing through, thinking that we could do it all, knowing that we really can’t.  Where do we find ourselves?

Not feeling groovy.  Sometimes the most spiritual, Godly think you can do is to rest or take a nap.  Listen to your body, but better yet, listen to the Lord.

Have you ever ignored the warning signs that you need to rest?

  1. robshep
    August 26, 2013 at 4:41 am

    I have. I’ve worked myself to sickness. Sorry you aren’t feeling well!

  2. August 26, 2013 at 5:18 am

    I have done that more than I like to admit. I have even gone so far as to lay down after lunch only to talk myself out of it and getting up. “don’t want them to think you are lazy.” “Don’t let this cold get the best of you.” Perhaps I need to do as you say: see it as God’s way of saying “Slow down.” (Hope you get to feeling better).

    • August 27, 2013 at 5:49 am

      I think we all need to just take some time and listen. I think He’s telling us in all sorts of different ways.

  3. August 26, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    Yep–it stinks. And yet I seem to keep doing it. Hang in there.

    • August 27, 2013 at 5:48 am

      Fortunately, I’ve got a vacation planned in just over a month.

  4. chashutch
    August 26, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    Sorry you are not well. I remember times when I would just go and go, not paying attention to the signs and end up sick. Hope you get feeling better. – Blessings

  5. August 26, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    Totally timely, Deuce. I’m on my first vacation in a couple years, and am working on that idea of holy rest and slowing down. Hope you get to take it easy soon.

    • August 27, 2013 at 5:47 am

      Glad you’re getting a vacation, Stephen. You need it, bro. It will do you a world of good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

