Home > Christianity, Faith > The Day I Used To Dread

The Day I Used To Dread

Growing up, I dreaded Labor Day.

We only had three channels back then, if you didn’t count PBS.  All channels were filled with the Jerry Lewis Muscular Dystrophy Labor Day Telethon.  The only cool thing I remember from that was that KISS was on it once, but I couldn’t watch them because they worshiped the devil.

But that isn’t why I really dreaded Labor Day.

Once I was old enough, Labor Day was, quite honestly, filled with labor.

My dad was usually off work, if he wasn’t working overtime, and we would spend the day working on a project.  I don’t know any kid that looks forward to working all day on their last day off from school for a long time.

These days it’s different.

I love Labor Day.  I can usually catch up on a project that I want to complete.  I will normally do some yard work.  Now days, it’s kind of fun.

Why?

When we read the book of Genesis, we see that one of the main purposes of our creation is to work.  After the Fall, our work became harder.  It actually became labor.

So, I don’t mind work, but I dislike anything that makes me labor.  Anything that really makes me struggle to accomplish it.  Trust me, there’s plenty of that.

I don’t really dread Labor Day any longer, but I do dread labor.  This unofficial end to summer reminds me that we will all labor in some form or fashion until the day that the Lord comes back.  It reminds me to long for that day when Christ returns and the curse is finally ended.

Do you like Labor Day?  Are you longing for the curse to end?

  1. September 2, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    I loved this Labor Day. I got to hang with my kids all day long with no distractions. It was fun.

    • September 2, 2013 at 9:09 pm

      That’s awesome, Rob. We had a JV game this morning

  2. Natalie
    September 3, 2013 at 1:59 am

    Did school usually start the day after Labor Day for you when you were really young? Because when I was in school (which means you were in middle school and high school), we started the third week in August. Labor Day was 2 weeks after school started. Hmm…

    • September 3, 2013 at 5:01 am

      It changed after I started. Not sure when, maybe the first couple of years. Then for a while we started the Monday before Labor Day. Then Labor Day would be the last day we would have off until the in-service days at the end of October, which seemed like forever.

    • September 3, 2013 at 5:42 am

      Is this the first time you have ever commented? 🙂

  3. September 3, 2013 at 5:26 am

    School always started after Labor Day when I was in school. I graduated High school in ’70 so that ought to give you some perspective. I like LD like I do any holiday. I do whatever i want. Yesterday after my kids left I went for a 26 mile ride, then we went to a picnic with some friends. Came home and did some laundry and watched a couple videos. Loved the day off. Today it is back to the old grind.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

