Home > Christianity, Faith > Why Should Christians Exercise?

Why Should Christians Exercise?

One of the things I often say is that we who follow Christ often do the same things we would do if we didn’t follow Christ.  The difference is that a lot of those things are just must better with Christ.  Following Christ just makes a lot of the things we do sweeter.

How about exercise?  Does Christ make exercise sweeter?

It doesn’t take the work out of it, but it can definitely give us a greater purpose to our exercise than without Him.

The Lord has given us our bodies.  Once we follow Christ, our bodies are the temple of the Holy Spirit.  We should take care of our bodies with the same gusto that we would take care of our homes or our churches.

The Lord calls us to work in His name.  Exercise enables us to work harder and longer for the Lord.

Imagine that the Lord gives you the opportunity to go on a mission trip.  Exercise will help you to stand up to the rigors of trips to areas with harsher climates.  Unfortunately, it will not change the climate for you.

There are a myriad of other reasons why we should exercise in the name of the Lord.  What are some that  you can think of?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. September 3, 2013 at 5:44 am

    i exercise for my own well-being. That, in turn, gives me a healthier outlook for my day and my job. I also think it gives me some oomph and I’m not so sluggish.

  2. September 3, 2013 at 7:06 am

    So we can keep up with all those dang church fellowships and their food.

    • September 3, 2013 at 7:07 am

      Amen!!!

    • September 3, 2013 at 12:40 pm

      Yeah, the food at those church fellowships is usually carb-loaded, unhealthy, filler crap. But I have a different view on food than most. And I also believe that exercise doesn’t really contribute more than to about 15% of weight loss and that diet is the biggest factor.

      All that said, I exercise because it gives me energy, makes me strong and while this may not be my home I want to be healthy as long as I’m here.

  3. Ricky Anderson
    September 3, 2013 at 10:22 am

    I hate exercise. With a passion.

    But I do it occasionally to make my wife happy and so I can be there longer for my family.

  4. September 3, 2013 at 11:58 am

    It is difficult to speak about the Spiritual disciplines when there is visible evidence of a lack of discipline in our own lives.

  5. September 3, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    Exercise is good stewardship over our body. Exercise is our part to do and God will do his part and multiply it because we still need a deep true strength from him. (Is 40:31).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

