Home > Christianity, Faith > A Single Retweet

A Single Retweet

Let’s get real for a minute. Do you mind?

Believe it or not, my life isn’t perfect. I know that if you read this blog, you probably think that. You probably think, that guy has it all together. He writes his little blog and does his little do. “Go, Larry!!!”, I can hear many of you say.

Eh, not really. I get up, get ready for work, work my day’s worth, come home and do it all again. I try to be a husband to Jan and a dad to Lauren and Andrew. We keep a busy schedule and I write these little ditties. I tweet and post on Facebook. And then something like this happens.

I retweeted something that leads to a minor disagreement with a couple of friends. Not one of those relationship shattering disagreements. Nothing like that. Here’s what happened.

I read a tweet that I thought was profound and fit squarely in my worldview. It was one sentence of someone quoting another. I hit the old retweet button and even scheduled the tweet for later in the day. I do that a lot to spread out my tweets and retweets. Then I promptly forgot about it. Again, like I often do.

Except this time I got reaction that I wasn’t expecting. I got some push back from a couple of friends. And, lest you think I’m mad at them or anything, that’s ok. I’m still sticking to my original thought about the quote and I love those two friends. Relationships intact.

Here’s what I realized though.

I retweeted a guy who quoted someone who I don’t really know. It was one sentence in which I have no idea what the total context was.

Neither did my friends.

We all read it with our own lives’ experiences affecting our takes on that particular sentence. We all, I daresay, read things into sentences that we don’t know happened or occurred.

So, let me make a very general statement about all of us. That means the folks who are reading this post and the one who wrote it.

What we have viewed through the lens of our own lives will color how we see what goes on in life in general.

Relationships with our fathers will affect how we view the Father.

Marriages will affect how we see the Church as the Bride of Christ.

Tragedies and hurts, friendships and failures affect how we see one sentence in a paragraph.

So, what was our disagreement over? Does that even matter? Not in my book. What matters is that we are friends and maybe we understand each other a little more after a single retweet.

How do you think your life affects how you see things you encounter in your day-to-day life?

  1. September 5, 2013 at 5:23 am

    There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that my life affects how I see things and visa versa. We all look through glasses that fit our face, but are not made for others. One thing I do want to do is to not be one who looks into the mirror of God’s Word and forget what I look like or the world.

  2. September 5, 2013 at 7:05 am

    My life experiences absolutely have an impact on how I view things. I used to try to see things from other perspectives some–but quit–and have recently tried doing it again thanks to an interesting conversation with my exact opposite. It’s amazing what you miss out on.

  3. September 5, 2013 at 9:49 am

    I instantly went to your twitter feed to try to figure out the quote. Couldn’t do it. I’m curious. I was told yesterday that someone was afraid that our meeting would somehow end up a blog post. Oh me.

    • September 5, 2013 at 11:53 am

      I guess that is the downside of blogging. We tend to see everything as a potential post. I hope mine in no way would demean anyone who disagreed with me.

  4. September 5, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    You’re so right, and it sounds like common sense, but lots of people don’t even realize it. I didn’t realize how much our perspective mattered in the way we communicate (both give and receive information) until I was doing the research to create a communication class for work. BIG eye opener. And still I let my little life lense mess with what I hear and read and say and write. This is such a good reminder to keep my view open as I take in information, but also as I pass it on. And also to give people the benefit of the doubt when they throw something at me that I don’t see eye to eye about.

  5. September 5, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    You are right on brother with this one. It has happened to me with a comment I made on someone elses post. Somehow it got posted on my fb wall. I was so upset when I got a reply from someone who it hurt. After trying at first to explain myself I finally just said, hey I am sorry. They finally did come back after thinking about their reaction for a few days and said, I do believe you did not do it on purpose…………

    The whole thing was a heads up for me to be more careful what I say and then also to realize more and more social media does put us out there to be judge.

    Good points you bring up Larry. We do all see things from our own little world we have walked through. I know I never set out to offend but also know there is always a chance it will. Good learning issues.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

