Home > Christianity, Faith > Is Algebra In The Bible?

Is Algebra In The Bible?

One of the things I have figured out in life is that math is always right.  Two plus two equals four.  It was when I learned that in the first grade.  It remains now that I’m nearly forty-five.

Later on in life, somewhere around eighth grade, I began to learn algebra.  Much of high school was dominated by some sort of algebra throughout my time there.  I never thought it would com in handy, but I remember having to use it in a spur of the moment situation during an accounting test once.  At other times, what I learned in algebra has come to my aid.

Imagine my surprise when I put algebra to use when I was studying the Bible a while back.  What, you say?  Why did I use algebra when studying the Bible?  Let me show you.

I read this verse recently.  It’s from Romans 11:36.  Check it out:

For from Him and through Him and to Him are all things.  To Him be the glory forever. Amen

Now, here’s the other, Colossians 1:16:

For by Him all things were created, both in the heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities – all  things have been created through and for him.

(Both of these verse are from the New American Standard Bible, by the way)

Let’s do something crazy now, why don’t we?  Let’s put them in the form of an algebraic equation:

For from Him and through Him and to him are all things. To Him be the glory forever. Amen = For by Him all things were created, both in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities – all things have been created through and for Him,

There are some similar words there right?  Let’s use some algebra to make it look like this:

For from Him and through Him and to him and for him = all things were and have been created, both in heaven and on earth, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities

In other words, all things were created for Him, from Him, through Him and to Him.

Maybe you knew that already.  I did.  But it was pretty cool when I saw it through my old friend algebra.  However, if you are a math teacher or a math whiz, you probably see some algebraic mistakes I made.  That’s fine.  I was ok at algebra, but you wouldn’t want me to teach it to anyone.

Am I right?  Is algebra in the Bible?

  1. September 9, 2013 at 5:48 am

    I’m glad you know math. I am hoping though, algebra is not in the bible. I HATE math. Always have. But if you say so…then i will trust it.

    • September 10, 2013 at 5:46 am

      Bill, the great thing is that it doesn’t take algebra or math to come to Christ.

  2. chashutch
    September 9, 2013 at 7:47 am

    I’m not sure about algebra specifically, but I see math in the bible all the time. It makes me stop and “add up” some of the statements and they have way more impact.

  3. September 9, 2013 at 9:36 am

    If algebra is in the Bible, I’m going to have to trust others (like you) to find it. Just like I have to enjoy a TV show for what it is and not look for the symbolism in it. I am a lifelong Christian, but I am what I would call a “simple Christian,” in that I don’t have the discernment it takes to figure out what the Bible means beyond the face value of the words (which I think hold enough Truth and Light on their own, by the way). I have always counted on men and women wiser than myself to tell me the deeper meaning of scripture, which is why there are notes in the margins of so many pages in my Bible.

    • September 10, 2013 at 5:45 am

      Katherine, I used to think that some were superior to “simple Christians”. As I’ve grown, I’ve longed to have the faith of those I once thought of as “simple”. I’ve found myself learning so much from those folks. There really isn’t anything simple about “simple Christians.” Quite often the Lord uses those good folks to teach me important lessons and show me who really has a grasp on our faith.

  4. September 9, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    Sort of. But I wouldn’t tell people that–it would give some another reason not to read it.

    • September 10, 2013 at 5:42 am

      What percentage do you think would do that? See what I did there? Included more math.

  5. Biblical Algebra
    December 19, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    I appreciate this article! Both God’s Word and Man’s number “rise above” mere opinions (to my pleasure). For more “homework” and “Higher Learning” consider http://www.BiblicalAlgebra.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

