Home > Christianity, Faith > What Brand Are You?

What Brand Are You?

When I was young, I stayed at my grandparents home quite often, just like many grandchildren do.  When staying there, no matter what room I would walk into, there was always a box of tissue.  I remember at some point that she always bought Puff brand of tissue.  However, she never asked for anyone to get her a Puff when she had need of a tissue.  She always asked for a Kleenex.

*****

My grandparents also had a closet in the basement that was beneath their stairwell.  It was a funny shaped closet where the bottom of the steps slanted down.  This was their Coke closet.  Each week at the grocery store they bought several cartons of soft drinks.  My grandma liked Pespi best.  My grandpa liked Coke.  However, to really confuse me real good, they were only called Cokes.  I learned somewhere along the way to bring a carton of Pepsi and Coke up when my grandma asked me to carry some up.  However, I remained confused because my great-grandmother called all of them dopes.

*****

For years we didn’t have copy machines at work.  We only had Xerox machines.  Even long after we actually bought Xerox machines, we still referred to them as Xerox machines.  The name Xerox was powerful for years.  I’m not sure when we quit making Xeroxes and just made copies, but the effect is still in my memory.

*****

Occasionally I hurt myself and begin to bleed.  After I clean it up, I always put a Band-Aid on it.  After all, that band-aid is stuck on me and I’m stuck on a band-aid.  It doesn’t matter if the actual brand is Curell or Band-Aid.  I’m getting a band-aid.

*****

Branding is powerful.  Images form in our mind.  Emotions intertwine with a product and influence our purchases and even our lifestyle.  The best brands, as I have said through this post, affect our concept of entire product types.

A few thousand years ago some people created a brand for themselves.  In Antioch, some followers of Christ lived their life in such a way that they were called “little Christs”, Christians.  For the first time, a term that is common to us today was used.  Imagine that for a minute.  How powerful was the life these people led to be first be called Christian.

Today, being called a Christian can have all sorts of meanings.  It may be someone who goes to church.  It may be a Fundamentalist.  Some in the past have felt that it was just part of being American.

The question is, are we living such a life that others might think of us as “little Christs?”

What brand are you?

  1. September 10, 2013 at 9:03 am

    I have always been “proud” to call myself a Christian. It has lost its meaning so much I now use Christ-follower. Sadly, the camp I grew up was proud of “we are Christians only”: but sometimes in word and action forgot the latter part of that “but not the only christians.”

    • September 10, 2013 at 1:00 pm

      We have to maintain that balance, don’t we Bill?

  2. September 10, 2013 at 11:45 am

    Good question, Larry. Lord, enable me to be an accurate representation of the Spirit of Christ. Amen. Thanks so much for writing, Larry. I’m seeing you everywhere. 🙂 I came here from your comment on Jeff Goins.

    • September 10, 2013 at 11:49 am

      Thanks Arlen. Thank you so much for coming over here. I hope you will come back.

  3. September 10, 2013 at 12:52 pm

    Great post! I’m reading the book “Not A Fan” and it has a similar feel to it. Really enjoying it. Thanks for the challenge.

    • September 10, 2013 at 1:00 pm

      Ron, I mean Rob, I have heard of that book. I may need to read it.

  4. September 10, 2013 at 1:30 pm

    We here at Repo Comedy are Pepsi Fans. Check out our new commercial: http://repocomedy.com/2013/09/10/diet-pepsi-sketch/

  5. September 10, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    Great thoughts, Larry!

  6. September 10, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    Good thoughts Larry. I am sure some are offending by the tag Christian but I still use it. Joined a writing group recently and that’s how they define me, a Christian. Since I write mostly Christian articles they got the message quick just as I got their message quickly. In fact one guy said I was trying to convert him by the story I read. The people in tribes usually calls themselves “believers” after salvation.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

