Home > Christianity, Church > Men And Women, Blah, Blah, Blah

Men And Women, Blah, Blah, Blah

I hope I don’t offend you, i really do.  I read a lot of blog post and articles that talk about men and women in the Church and society.  I hear it from people on what we call the conservative side of things.  I read what the liberal or progressive folks have to say.  Here is what I hear.

Blah, blah, blah.

There seems to be a lot of angst out there in the world and in some parts of the Church about the roles of men and women these days.  I’ve noticed that there are feminist Christians who want to promote women.  I’ve not noticed too many folks who advocate the role of men, though I do someone would take up the cause to stop men from being portrayed as doofuses in commercials and TV shows.  It seems to me that we men have become targets in the world, and to some degree, in the Church.

Here’s the thing from my perspective: I’ve been married for twenty-one years.  My wife and I don’t really think about men’s or women’s roles.  We do what it takes to make our lives work.  We look at the Bible for guidance on most of our lives.  We feel like we can do a pretty good job of determining what that means in our lives.  I want to love her like Christ loved the Church.  She wants to submit to me as to the Lord.  What does that look like?  Well, we screw it up quite a bit.  I certainly don’t boss her around.  My love for her fails to meet that standard.  We live with a lot of grace toward each other.

We don’t get worked up over what seemingly stirs a lot of people up.  We watched our kids grow up.  Our daughter, without a whole lot of training, was, well, a girl.  Our son, without me telling him, figure out he was a boy.  Of course there was that one time that she dressed him up like a girl, but that’s another story.

Sometimes I think that the folks who get in an uproar over this stuff lose focus.  Don’t misunderstand me.  I do plenty of times too.  But what I see are people whose focus falls more on the role of men or women in society and the Church and not on Christ.

I hear about lot about men and women, blah, blah, blah.

I want to hear more about Jesus.

Do we hear too much about the roles of men and women sometimes and not enough about Christ?

Categories: Christianity, Church Tags: , , , ,
  1. September 11, 2013 at 5:47 am

    In my line of work, I do tend to hear a lot. We have been married 40 years and have done what it takes to make it work. Our girls grew up being girls. There was no tussle between mom & dad on who wore the pants. I was the leader but we worked together to make it work. I think one of the reasons we seem to hear so much is the blurred lines caused by society on lifestyles. Sadly, it is often a knee-jerk reaction (not all of them) to that society. If we would grasp the whole idea of loving our wives as Christ loved the church, submission to each other is the way of the Bible (Eph.5:21), we would be a whole lot better off…and be able to spend more time talking about Jesus.

  2. September 11, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    My husband and I are the same – we do the work and usually work as a team – never considered our “roles”. We both raised our children together – Greg was not afraid to do dishes or change diapers even when I was home and didn’t have another job. I remember my Dad did not do these things – they were a typical 1950’s family where Dad brought home the bacon. We just weren’t going to be like that – and we weren’t perfect but still I think we got it right 🙂

  3. September 11, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Larry I so agree on how TV portrays men…which is the same trick the devil used in the garden. My husband and I have been a team for almost 49 years and we still have struggles. Those struggles are always about the same thing, each of us trying to get our way. Thank God He put those plain simple truths in the word for each of us to follow. Love and submit. Good post.

    • September 12, 2013 at 6:01 am

      Thanks Betty. We have to work and push through, don’t we?

  4. September 11, 2013 at 10:14 pm

    I think what you say is true for a lot of things. There are plenty of things we focus on when we should be focusing on Jesus.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

