Home > Christianity, Faith > Selah: A Friday Pause

Selah: A Friday Pause

I don’t remember last Friday’s post.  I suppose that if I wanted to, I could look it up, but there’s no need.  It doesn’t matter.

If you’ve been with me for a while, you might know that last week was a post that was a little more serious than the previous few weeks.  I had an idea for a humor post that evolved into a series of humor posts.  By the way, can I use the word evolve in a faith based blog?

Those twelve or thirteen posts were pretty  neat, but I’m going to let you in on a secret.

They wore me out.

It was so much easier for me to crank out posts  about our faith, the Lord, the Church or any other subject related to these.  I found out that I am not a humor writer.  Guess what?  I’m cool with that.  I may still write a humor post here and there, but not on a regular basis

A lot of this whole thing is discovering who I am.  You guys help me out with that by reading and commenting.   It would be cool if all of you would comment, unless, of course, you are just going to argue with me.

What today’s post really is kind of like one of those selahs from the Psalms.  You know, where it kind of pauses.  Maybe there was supposed to be an instrumental or something while the choir took a break.  I could pick up my mandolin and plunk a few notes, but I only learned enough to go from truly awful to just plain bad.

I’m using today to just pause.  The Hi-LARRY-ity posts are going the way of the old Two-for-Tuesday posts and Twitterific Thursdays.  There are other changes coming, just not as fast as I want them to or even according to the goals I’ve set forth.  I have about seven more chapter to wrap up the Resignation fiction series.  I’ve loved it, but I see the light at the end of the tunnel and I need for this one to end.

Also, my campground ministry will be over in about six weeks, so Sunday posts will go away then as well.  Not posting on Saturday or Sunday will free me up to do some things that I really want to accomplish.  The long rumored eBook is still growing, although slower than I really want it to.  I also want to move to that self-hosted site that I keep talking about.  I just will have to postpone it until things slow down after this fall and winter.  Spring looks a little better.

I also am about to embark on leading a small group at church, and that is going to bring another layer of busyness into our lives.

So, selah.  Pause.  Breathe.  I need it.  More than likely, you need it too.  See you in the blogosphere.

Have you paused lately?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. September 13, 2013 at 9:07 am

    I’ve written a lot about my recent trip to Guatemala, and don’t get me wrong we were busy while we were there. But in reality, the trip was a refreshing pause for my family and me. The pace of life in Guatemala is so much slower than what we put ourselves through here in America – especially in the Northeast. Regular breaks – sabbaths – are so important to help us recover, refocus, and restore. Blessings on your breather!

  2. September 13, 2013 at 11:24 am

    I am all for a rest from the blog world, in fact just took one. Four whole days without once getting on the computer, it was refreshing. I decided to not catch up on every post I missed with those I follow too. Since I only write only once a week I have more time to think through my post, listening more to what I am studying. Even though I admire those who write daily but know it’s not for me. The scriptures where Paul talks about, “I am who I am by the grace of God” have taken on new meaning to me lately…hard to walk that truth when one is always busy. Good post

  3. Ricky Anderson
    September 13, 2013 at 11:50 am

    How you feel about funny posts is how I feel about serious posts, so I understand. I have a serious post I’m working on now that’s in week 3 of writing. Not revision, 1st draft.

    • September 13, 2013 at 11:51 am

      Awesome how we’re all wired differently, isn’t it?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

