Home > Christianity, Faith > How To Stop Picking Up Dead Possums

How To Stop Picking Up Dead Possums

Yesterday I wrote about picking up dead possums.  They are dead, rotting and stinky, yet we too often pick them up and show them off like they are something to behold.  Our Father sends us His Son’s Spirit and the fruit that comes with Him yet handle rotting flesh.  Sheesh.

My friend, Michelle, asked me how do we avoid that?  How do we keep from picking up this decaying flesh?  I think the answer is both simple and difficult, yet the Lord gives us the answers in His word.

My first thought, actually, was that instead of picking up the dead possums we should handle the fruit of the Spirit.  But that didn’t feel quite right to me.  The fruit is evidence of the Spirit.  We could actually act joyful and loving and so on and so on and actually be so prideful that those become deeds and works of the flesh as well.  That can’t be the answer.  Then it struck me.

We must abide in Christ.

Instead of trying to cling to fruit from the tree or the vine, we must cling to the Vine Himself.  We can’t bear fruit unless we are abiding in Christ.  We must remember that apart from Him, we can do nothing.

There happens to be some reward to abiding in him as well.  Sure we produce fruit.  That’s awesome.  But there is more.

If we abide in Him and His words abide in us, we can ask for whatever we wish.  Whatever we wish will be given to us.

Let me throw out a disclaimer here.  I don’t believe that means red Corvettes or boatloads of money.  If that is what we are asking for chances are we aren’t abiding in Him anyway.  If we are abiding in Him, then I think what we ask for will coincide with what He wishes for us.  I’m not sure on the mechanics of how that works, but that’s the sense I get from His word.

So, I say lay down the dead possums.  Don’t pick them up to begin with.  However, you can’t stop there.  Cling to the Vine.  Abide in Christ.  Live such a life that people can say, “He’s crucified with Christ.  It’s no longer him or her who lives, but Christ in him or her.”

 How would you stop from picking up dead possums?

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. September 17, 2013 at 9:21 am

    Have to agree with you! Someone recently defined “abiding in Christ” as being totally dependent on Him. I think there is so much truth in that- to bear fruit, we must start off each and every day admitting we won’t make it without Jesus, and that we count on Him (His word, His wisdom, the people he puts in our lives) if we’re going to bear fruit.

    • September 17, 2013 at 1:53 pm

      That’s key. Admitting and knowing where you are.

  2. September 17, 2013 at 10:40 am

    Solid! Have you read Gospel by JD Greear? I think all Christians should read it. He says the word abide literally means to “make your home in.”

    • September 17, 2013 at 10:50 am

      I have got to read this book, Rob. Would it be good for a small group to read and discuss together?

  3. September 17, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    Thanks Larry! It’s still hard, I think, but maybe that’s just temptation. The possum is bad but tempting too. I think I mostly know when I’m wanting to do something that’s not quite right. I can feel that tug of war in my heart between what I want to do and what I ought to do.

    But with things like that post, it’s easy for me to get confused. Some bible verses make me feel like I should be magically good because I got saved. But posts like this (which make sense to me) say we have to still work at being good too. But then you hear how you can’t be good without help from God; if you try to do it on your own that’s pride and it won’t work. So it’s confusing.

    • September 17, 2013 at 1:52 pm

      I think the key is not pulling out a verse and hanging your hat on it. I think abiding in Christ is the same as living and walking in the Spirit. Check out Sunday’s post about how to do that. I think that helps. It’s also a daily battle. I don’t think we see anyone who is magically transformed. Even though Paul was converted, he didn’t become super apostle immediately. It was years down the road before he began his ministry.

      • September 17, 2013 at 2:01 pm

        Good advice, and also I have to be aware when people throw verses at me too, and not get too hung up on one thing. It can become overwhelming when you’re new to it.

  4. September 17, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    You have an important key here. It is not just stopping doing something, but starting to do something else in its place.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

