Home > Blogging, Christianity, Church > Just Some Random Monday Thoughts

Just Some Random Monday Thoughts

You don’t know how many other posts I tried to write for today.  I even wrote some that I think are great ideas.  But, man, few things are meshing well in my writing right now.  I know why.  It leads back to what I talked about Friday.  I’m kind of worn out.  The light is at the end of the tunnel.  I have two more weeks until a week off of work.  That will help.  I have about 6 more weeks of campground preaching.  At about the same time, my son’s football season will be over.  All of these are good things, if you notice.  What we all need to realize is that even too much good stuff ends up bad.  It’s kind of like the manna that God sent Israel.  He said to take enough for one day.  Just what you need.  if you took too much, it spoiled.  So, if I can make it until October 4, then I will have a week of rest.  Then I can power through three more weeks of this season and move to the next one.

*****

I was talking to a lady that I know fairly well Friday.  She is about ten years older than me.  She is at a place in her life where her kids are grown and she has no idea what her passion is anymore.  She has been working in the same type of work for thirty-three years now.  I can tell from speaking with her that she is bored out of her mind.  One of my fears is that I will be in this condition in ten years.  I want to fight this from occurring in my life.  I want to pursue my passions on a daily basis.

*****

There are some other changes coming in my life other than just what will happen over the next six weeks.  Some of those won’t be realized for a  few months.  Ministry is important to me.  It’s time, though, for a ministry shakeup.  Mack Brown has probably outlived effective leadership as the head coach of the University of Texas.  I think that happens to us sometimes in the ministries we are involved in.  Sometimes we need a shakeup.

*****

I have several things on my mind that I want to write.  I have loved writing my fiction series over the past year and have found out that I definitely love it.  I want to write more of it.  We’ll see how it goes.

*****

My friend, Jim Woods, calls me the Cal Ripken of blogging.  Not sure that there is anything like Lou Gehrig’s record out there for me to break though.

Any random thought you would like to share?

  1. September 23, 2013 at 5:00 am

    I don’t want to be like that lady.

    I have much to be grateful for. Going to visit a man in Indy today who had a transplanted kidney in ’03 but who has never been strong. This past Spring he sold his alarm business and used the money to go to India. His kidney took a big hit and he has been in the hospital for over 2 months now after surgery. In and out of a coma, 3 heart attacks, and who knows what else. Yeah, I’m thankful for achy knees.

    • September 24, 2013 at 5:12 am

      Bill, I have no worries you will be like that lady. And I will pray for this person. And your achy knees.

  2. September 23, 2013 at 6:08 am

    With your passion for life, I doubt you will ever be bored. I am going to be 70 in about three months and still seem to find something to keep my mind occupied. I have a passion for animals and work with rescued dogs helping them to overcome the abuse they received. They need a lot of love and TLC.
    I thought when I retired I would have time for all the little projects I had set aside for myself, but I now have found I never have to time to even begin one of them. I wonder how I ever found time to work when I was younger.
    Have a great day, my friend!

    Ed.

    • September 24, 2013 at 5:15 am

      Ed, that is amazing that you will be 70. I imagined you much younger. I’m convinced a lot of “stuff” is in our head. I’ve seen some people who retire and think it’s time to sit down. I think it will be a time to get up and move more.

  3. diegohijano
    September 23, 2013 at 8:26 am

    Hey Larry, good morning.
    Good thoughts, they could eventually become a post after some rest.
    You should take a break, post some old good stuff. It’s nice for us to catch up and you to refresh:)
    Another they went by to cross in the calendar. One by one it will arrive.
    Enjoy your Monday.

  4. philsname32
    September 23, 2013 at 9:13 am

    First of all, I’m glad I’m not the only one this happens to when it comes to writing. Second of all, I like how you tied manna back to too much of a good thing ceasing to be good.

    • September 24, 2013 at 5:16 am

      Thanks Phil. I may expand that manna deal into something more.

  5. Ricky Anderson
    September 23, 2013 at 10:36 am

    I like Jim’s description of you. Impressive.

    • September 24, 2013 at 5:17 am

      That’s Jim’s description. I know the real me though.

  6. September 23, 2013 at 10:37 am

    I don’t like pretzels, but eat them anyway.

  7. September 23, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    It’s been tough getting back in the swing on writing again…but…I feel that God won’t let me let it go…so…Engraving Rocks has been created…taken from job 19…and I’ve run with it.

  8. September 23, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    In the midst of a ministry/professional/purpose shake-up myself, and it’s terrifying and energizing at the same time. Looking forward to seeing where God is leading. Just wish He would write it in the sky for me.

    • September 24, 2013 at 5:19 am

      I like what you said about sky writing. I wish He would do that too.

  9. September 23, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    Ha, the Cal Ripken of blogging indeed. How many years have you been blogging consistently, Larry? You are definitely one of the most regular bloggers I follow. I respect that!

  10. robshep
    September 23, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    I have really bad posture. It’s crazy to me that of all the things people have made fun of me for over the years no one has ever made fun of me for that.

    • September 24, 2013 at 4:26 am

      Have you ever tried to do anything to work on your posture? Bad posture can actually be bad for your health.

    • September 24, 2013 at 5:20 am

      When I meet you I will make fun of your posture if that will make you feel better.

  11. September 24, 2013 at 4:24 am

    I’m sitting here reading your post and feeling very tired myself. We have a group of doctors ministering here this week that we are helping to host. Also this past weekend was really busy ministry wise, now it’s all catching up to me. I think I’m going to go and take a nap zzzzzzzzzzzzzz!

    • September 24, 2013 at 5:22 am

      Hope you have a good nap!!!

      • September 24, 2013 at 7:37 am

        I did have a good nap! Just woke up and now it’s back to work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

