Home > Blogging > The 3 R’s Of My Life

The 3 R’s Of My Life

I sat there for a few moments.  Just contemplating.  Wondering what had really made me who I am.  I stretched back into the recesses of my memory as far as I could.  Three things have really shaped who I am.  When I put them together, they really paint a good picture of who I am.

Reading

I don’t remember ever not reading.  Sundays were some of my favorite days of the week.  The newspaper would come and I would pull out the comics.  Somehow I learned or taught myself to read.  I read of The Phantom in the jungles of Africa.  Snuffy Smith would visit.  Mutt and Jeff  came long.  Of course , Charlie Brown and Snoopy were my pals as well.

In elementary school, I discovered sports books.  I read the history of baseball countless time in countless ways.  I was there when Babe Ruth led the American League in homers and the Yankees to many pennants.  I would finish my work as quickly as possible so I could read.  I had to stay in from recess once because my teacher thought I had read too much and hadn’t completed an assignment.  Turns out, I had already turned it in so that I could spend my time reading instead.

I read comic books most of my teenage years, along with Stephen King novels.  Without traveling very far, I traveled to untold galaxies and dimensions, not to mention the state of Maine.

Running

I may have been running in the womb, for all I know.  When I was young, I would run around my grandma’s house while she timed me.  Running to the pole and back was my favorite part of football practice.  Not letting me run was punishment.

In the sixth grade, I trained for my first 5k.  I would run three miles every night after football practice.  Later on, during my eighth grade year, I ran track and found out I was pretty good.  Track and cross-country remained a part of my life through most of high school.

I still love to run and rarely find anything that allows me to get off by myself and think.  Running lets me do that.

wRiting

Writing is the newest influence in my life.  I hated it when I had to do it in high school.  Now, it’s just part of who I am.  I have only been writing for the past five years.  I talked and dreamed of writing for years before that, but never did anything about it.  It’s something that I feel like completes my day, whether I write first thing when I wake up or just before going to bed.

There you have them.  The three R’s in my life.  Three of the biggest influences of my life, what goes into my life and makes me who I am.

What has influenced your life?

Categories: Blogging Tags: , , ,
  1. September 25, 2013 at 8:39 am

    No question reading has been a big part of my life. I used to read all sorts of books when i was a kid. hardy Boys. Sugar Creek Gang. Chip Hilton. I used to read a lot of western hero stories in elementary school. Daniel Boone. Davey Crockett. I have always loved history. ‘course some of my reading has not always been edifying (but we won’t get into that). Baseball and cycling have also influenced me. My biggest has been my Bible and Jesus. (I had to be somewhat spiritual).

  2. September 25, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    Reading, church, raising a family–those are a few. There are many more–including sitting at break with a few good guys.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

