Home > Christianity, Faith > Physicals, Spirituals And Such

Physicals, Spirituals And Such

Yesterday I woke and followed my normal routine.  I did this and I did that.  I did a few whats and such.  I took a shower and made the bed.  However, there was one thing that I didn’t do.

I didn’t eat breakfast.

Why?  Before I went to work yesterday I went to the doctor and had my annual physical.  I guess I’m getting to that age where I need to go every year and make sure that everything is working properly.  That wasn’t my main motivation, though.  To keep my insurance costs as low as possible, my health insurance requires me to do certain things.  One of the options is to get the yearly checkup.

The doc did most of the normal things.  He listened to my heart and lungs.  He looked down my throat and felt around my neck.  He poked and prodded a few places and that’s all I’ll say about that.

One thought that struck me after I left was this:  why don’t we get a yearly spiritual checkup?  I’m not sure how it would work, but I think it would be a great idea if we sat down one on one with someone like our pastor just to find out where we stand spiritually.  It might help us:

  • Find out if our hearts have hardened or if they are growing softer in the Lord
  • Gauge whether we are hot, cold or lukewarm in our relationship with the Lord
  • Find out how connected we are in the Body of Christ
  • Determine if we have eyes to see and ears to hear
  • Find out if we have any spiritual hernias that need to be fixed

I’m sure there are other areas where a spiritual checkup could help us.

What do you think of the idea of a annual spiritual checkup? 

  1. October 3, 2013 at 5:48 am

    Not only do I think it is a good idea but I also think it is essential. It would be a good way to determine whether we have grown or not or even regressed.

  2. October 3, 2013 at 11:42 am

    Good idea–but it needs to be done far more regularly. A year of going the wrong direction can be disastrous.

    • October 3, 2013 at 11:56 am

      I agree. I want to think Richard Baxter made house calls on everyone in his congregation.

  3. October 5, 2013 at 1:33 am

    That’s a great idea, but I think we need it more like weekly. I know I don’t take the time to just sit and take a gauge of where I am.

    • October 5, 2013 at 7:06 am

      Michelle, the old Puritan pastor Richard Baxter spent much of his time going to his people’s homes making “house calls.” I imagine his “spirituals” were fairly frequent.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

