Home > Blogging > 3 Reasons I Won’t Be Starting A Podcast

3 Reasons I Won’t Be Starting A Podcast

Not long ago I appeared on Michelle Moran’s podcast, People I Almost Know.  It was an awesome experience that I really enjoyed.  Each week I look forward to the next guest that she hosts and get really excited when it’s someone who I almost know through the Internets.

One of my friends, I believe it was Chad Jones, suggested that I begin my own podcast.  That is an extremely flattering compliment, however it’s not something that I think I can do at this point in my life.  Here are three reasons why:

1.  The first reason is really the easiest for why I won’t begin a podcast.  I live in an area that has poor internet.  I can’t even get cable TV, much less the awesome, unlimited internet they can provide.  My only two options for television are Dish Network or DirecTV.  The internet I have doesn’t allow me to stream Netflix.  Technology is working against me in creating podcast content.

2.  I am extremely limited regarding time right now.  I write this blog.  I work 40 to 50 hours per week.  I’m involved in my church and some ministry around.  My son is playing football, which requires a great deal of time.  Then there the everyday, ordinary issues of life.

3.  The final reason is simple:  I have absolutely no idea what kind of topics I would tackle on a podcast.  I’ve gotten adequate at producing content for this blog, but a podcast would be another animal.

There you have it.  That’s why there won’t be a Deuceolocast, or whatever it would be called, anytime soon.

How about you?  Have you ever thought about doing a podcast?  What would it be about?  If you do one, what is it?

  1. October 8, 2013 at 4:50 am

    I’ve thought about it, but I’m kind of in a holding pattern for similar reasons to your #2 and #3 above. Who knows though? One day there could be a Stretched Podcast. Would you listen?

    • October 8, 2013 at 5:24 am

      I would probably listen some. Due to the limited internet, I have to pick my spots to listen so that I don’t use up my data.

  2. October 8, 2013 at 5:32 am

    I have never thought about it other than I know the church puts my sermons on line from the church’s website. I have no desire to do a podcast even though I have internet, no child playing sports, and might be able to come up with something. No desire whatsoever.

  3. jamiekocur
    October 8, 2013 at 6:18 am

    I won’t be starting a podcast because, honestly, I don’t listen to podcasts. I’ve listened to a few, and those that do them are talented and do them well. It’s just one more thing I don’t have time for in my already busy schedule.

  4. Ricky Anderson
    October 8, 2013 at 7:49 am

    I agree. Too busy to do it right. Guest appearances are the way to go, and yours was a good one.

    • October 9, 2013 at 12:17 am

      So was yours!!

    • October 10, 2013 at 6:04 am

      Thanks Ricky. Yours was good as well and I got to put a voice to the tweets and posts.

  5. October 8, 2013 at 8:08 am

    I’ve been going back and forth on starting a podcast. I think it would be great to step into a new medium but then I don’t want to do it just because everyone else is doing one.

    • October 10, 2013 at 6:02 am

      It would only make sense if you really had something to say in that medium

  6. October 8, 2013 at 9:40 am

    I’ve never thought about it. Mine would probably consist of me saying “Uh” a lot.

  7. October 8, 2013 at 9:49 am

    did it once…with a me singing and playing a song I wrote…it was cool…if I did more…they would probably be musical. lol..

  8. October 8, 2013 at 10:31 am

    I’m glad that anytime soon, leaves it open…… 🙂

  9. October 8, 2013 at 11:29 am

    I’ve never thought about it. I think it’s because I’m getting old. I just don’t get it. I’m not against it but I haven’t had a desire to jump into that world.

  10. October 8, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    Never thought about starting a podcast but have been interviewed by one concerning being a missionary. My hats off to those who can find the time to do it.

  11. October 8, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    I did one for a while. It was about sustainable farming. We have poor internet out here in the country but I was able to make it work. Eventually I quit doing it because it took a lot of time. Time that I needed to spend actually farming, rather than just talking about it. But I do enjoy podcasts and have a lot of respect for the folks who take the time to do them.

  12. October 8, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    I barely talk on the phone as it is. I do listen to some occasionally (Michelle’s for sure, especially when it’s a familiar guest), but I have a hard time concentrating without visuals. Good motivation to start running again, a podcast would be good company on a run.

    • October 9, 2013 at 12:22 am

      Yay for listening! That’s funny – we both said that when we talked, that we’re not phone people. But ours was probably the most like a phone chat (giggle/laugh/talk over each other) out of all of them. At least until it got to the school part and I actually shut up and listened, haha.

    • October 10, 2013 at 5:56 am

      I agree, I rarely talk on the phone. Podcasts would be great company while running.

  13. October 9, 2013 at 12:28 am

    Thanks for the shout-out, Larry! I LOVED our talk. It was so awesome. I have to use my cell service for internet, and my bill has gone up a lot since I started podcasting, that’s for sure. Honestly, not many people listen to it, but it’s been such a great treat for me to have this excuse to talk to people, get to know them better, find out about their interesting jobs, and just ask them things I am curious about. It’s the best excuse ever to ask someone to talk to me! AND – I’m talking to a friend of yours in a couple of days….

    • October 10, 2013 at 5:54 am

      I try to listen to you every week, Michelle. It was awesome being on

    • October 10, 2013 at 5:55 am

      If that friend is 6’7″, ask him about me taking him to the hospital

      • October 10, 2013 at 7:02 am

        Ok!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

